You are Here: » Business of Parliament » Parliamentary Budget Office


The Money Bills Amendment Procedure and Related Matters Act No.9 of 2009 provides for the establishment of the Parliamentary Budget Office. Section 15(1) of the Act reads as follows: "There is hereby established a Parliamentary Budget Office headed by a Director, the main objective of which is to provide independent, objective and professional advice and analysis to Parliament on matters related to the budget and other money Bills."


The core function of the Parliamentary Budget Office is to support the implementation of the Money Bills Act by undertaking research and analysis for the four committees on Finance and Appropriations in the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces, including:

  1. Annually providing reviews and analysis of the documentation tabled in Parliament by the Executive in terms of this Act;
  2. Providing advice and analysis on proposed amendments to the fiscal framework, the Division of Revenue Bill and money Bills, and on policy proposals with budgetary implications;
  3. Monitoring and synthesising matters and reports tabled and adopted in a House with budgetary implications, with particular emphasis on reports by other committees;
  4. Keeping abreast of policy debates and developments in key expenditure and revenue areas;
  5. Monitoring and reporting on potential unfunded mandates arising out of legislative, policy or budgetary proposals; and
  6. Undertaking any other work deemed necessary by the Director to support the implementation of this Act.

Contact Details:
Parliamentary Budget Office
4th Floor
Parliament Towers
103 - 107 Plein Street
Cape Town
Tel: +27 21 403 2360
Fax: +27 21 403 3153
Fax to Mail: +27 86 718 2531

Related Links:

About Us

Position Title Name Telephone Email
Director Director: Parliamentary Budget Office Vacant
Executive Assistant Executive Assistant to the Director Ms Linda Mangwani (021) 403 2360
Office Manager Office Manager Mr Alfred Monnakgotla
Deputy Director Deputy Director: Economics Dr Seeraj Mohamed
Deputy Director Deputy Director: Finance Dr Dumisani Jantjies
Deputy Director Deputy Director: Public Policy Ms Nelia Orlandi
PBO Staff Economic Analyst Mr Rashaad Amra
PBO Staff Economic Analyst Ms Fatsani Banda
PBO Staff Public Finance Analyst Ms Gloria Mnguni
PBO Staff Public Finance Analyst Mr Siphethelo Simelane
PBO Staff Policy Analyst Dr Mmapula Sekatane
PBO Staff Policy Analyst


Money Bills Act

Please click here to open the Money bills act


ARCHIVE: 1st African PBO Conference 17-19 August 2016 - Presentations

South Africa

African Network of Parliamentary Budget Offices Conference
by Professor M Jahed Director: Parliamentary Budget Office Republic of South Africa

Questions of PBO capacity given their role in developing countries
Seeraj Mohamed

PBO Challenges and Experiences in support to fiscal oversight
Dumisani Jantjies – Deputy Director

Assessing the Performance of National Treasury’s Economic and Fiscal Forecasts
by Brandon Ellse, Finance Analyst : Parliamentary Budget Office, Republic of South Africa

PBO Governance Structure
by Nelia Orlandi, Deputy Director: Parliamentary Budget Office


Supporting Australian Democracy
by Phil Bowen PSM FCPA, Parliamentary Budget Officer


Governance Structure for PBOs, Canadian Experience
by Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Discussion on Capacity Requirements for IFIs (PBO)
by Sybi Hida, AFRITAC South, IMF



Auditor-General South Africa

Financial and Fiscal Commission


United Kingdom

Recognising Uncertainty and Evaluating Errors: The Role of PBOs and Fiscal Councils
by Andy King, Chief of Staff, Office for Budget Responsibility

University of Ottawa (Canada)

The Role of PBO in Parliament Fiscal Oversight - Expectations, Experiences & Challenges
by Kevin Page, President and CEO, Institute of Fiscal Studies and Democracy


Contact Us

Parliamentary Budget Office
4th Floor
Parliament Towers
103 - 107 Plein Street
Cape Town

Tel: +27 21 403 2360
Fax: +27 21 403 3153
Fax to Mail: +27 86 718 2531