For a soundbite from Parliament Spokesperson Moloto Mothapo, please click:

Parliament, Friday 6 August 2021 – Parliament has noted the announcement by the President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Cyril Ramaphosa, on appointment of Speaker of the National Assembly (NA) Ms Thandi Modise, and the Chairpersons of Portfolio Committees, Mr Mondli Gungubele (Social Development), Dr Sibongiseni Dhlomo (Health) and Mr Philemon Mapulane (Higher Education & Science) to the National Executive.

Other Members of Parliament appointed are Dr. Chana Pilane-Majake and Dr. Nobuhle Nkabane.

Parliament congratulates these Members and wishes them well in their new responsibilities.

Deputy Speaker of the NA Mr Lechesa Tsenoli will act as NA Speaker until the House elects a new Speaker.

In the committees where vacancies have arisen, members of those committees will elect acting chairpersons, from amongst themselves, until new chairpersons are elected.

A date for election of the new NA Speaker will be determined through consultations within Parliament and with the Office of the Chief Justice of the Republic. Section 52 (2) of the Constitution states that "the Chief Justice must preside over the election of a Speaker, or designate another judge to do so."

Should there be more than one nominee for the position of the Speaker, there will be a vote by secret ballot.

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo