You are Here: » Business of Parliament » Press Releases

Sunday, 16 July 2017 – The Speaker of the National Assembly has received submissions from political parties in Parliament stating their views regarding the appropriate voting procedure to be followed when the Motion of No Confidence in the President of the Republic is debated on 8 August 2017.

Parties were given until Friday, 14 July 2017, to make their submissions to the Speaker, as part of a wide range of factors she would consider when determining whether voting on the Motion would be conducted by way of a secret or open ballot.

At the lapse of the deadline, 9 of the 13 parties represented in the National Assembly had duly forwarded their views to the Speaker's Office. They are the African National Congress, Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, National Freedom Party, United Democratic Movement, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party and Congress of the People.

Both the African National Congress and the Democratic Alliance have indicated they will abide by the Speaker's decision, while the rest of the 9 prefer a secret ballot.

The Speaker has expressed her appreciation to the parties for their submissions which, considered together with a host of other factors, will assist her towards making her decision on the appropriate voting procedure.

The Speaker will make her decision before the scheduled debate on the Motion of No Confidence in the President on 8 August.


Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930