Parliament, Wednesday, 10 April 2024 – Today the Acting Speaker of the National Assembly (NA), Mr Lechesa Tsenoli, will receive a report of the independent panel of experts appointed to conduct a preliminary assessment regarding Mr Mbuyiselo Botha's potential removal from his position as a commissioner of the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE).

The panel was appointed in accordance with section 189 of the Constitution.

The Rules of the NA state that such a panel must consist of three fit and proper, competent, experienced, and respected South African citizens, which may include a judge and who collectively possesses the necessary legal and other competencies and experience to perform the preliminary assessment of the motion. If a judge is appointed, the Speaker must do so in consultation with the Chief Justice.

Accordingly, the appointed panel must complete its work and report within 30 days. The report, in turn, must be scheduled for consideration by the House.

Having started their assessment on 8 March, the panel Chairperson, Adv William Rasenga Mokhare SC, alongside two panel members will hand over their report with findings to the Acting Speaker.

Date: Wednesday, 10 April 2024
Time: 12 noon
Venue: Imbizo Centre, 120 Plein Building, Parliament Precinct, Cape Town

Important to note:
Members of the media who wish to cover the handover ceremony should send their details (Full name, name of the media house, and ID or passport number) to Manelisi Ntsodo at no later than TODAY, Wednesday, 10 April at 11am.

Parliamentary meetings are open to the media and the public. Journalists who are interested in covering these meetings (including receiving links to virtual meetings) are requested to forward their cellphone numbers to Mlindi Mpindi by emailing for inclusion in the Parliamentary Communication Services WhatsApp Group, where such information is shared. Journalists are urged to forward these requests using their official email addresses (no private emails).

Members of the public may get involved and follow committee sittings live on Parliament TV (DSTV Channel 408), via live stream on the Parliament YouTube channel and X (formerly Twitter) page on the links below. You may subscribe to the Parliament YouTube channel to receive instant notification of live feeds.

X (formerly Twitter):

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo