Parliament, Monday 07 October 2019 – National Council of Provinces (NCOP) Chairperson, Mr Amos Masondo, was among five Members of Parliament (MPs) sworn in at the opening ceremony of the 3rd Ordinary Session of the fifth Parliament of the Pan African Parliament (PAP) taking place in Midrand from 07 to 19 October.

The 6th democratic Parliament nominated five MPs: Mr Amos Masondo (NCOP Chairperson), Ms Pemmy Majodina (National Assembly (NA) Chief Whip), Dr Mathole Motshekga (from the African National Congress), Mr Thembekile Majola (from the Democratic Alliance) and Mr Julius Malema (leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters) to represent Parliament to the PAP.

Following their swearing-in, the SA Parliament delegation has since been designated by the Southern Africa Regional Caucus to serve in the following PAP Committees:

  • Mr Masondo: Committee on Trade, Customs and Immigration Matters;
  • Ms Majodina: Committee on Gender, Family, Youth and People with Disability;
  • Mr Malema: Committee on Audit and Public Accounts;
  • Dr Motshekga: Committee on Justice and Human Rights;
  • Mr Majola: Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline.

This 3rdOrdinary Session – taking place at the PAP headquarters in Midrand - is held under the African Union (AU) theme of 2019: “Refugees, Returnees and Internally Displaced Persons: Towards durable Solutions to Forced Displacement in Africa.’’

Among others, the Session will debate the Activity Report of the PAP (on Tuesday, 08 October); the launching and implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (on Wednesday, 09 October); the Draft Model Disability law; the 2020 African union theme: “Silencing the guns: create conducive conditions for Africa’s Development (10 October); and the Report of the High-Level Pan African Summit on HIV and Health financing (Wednesday, 16 October).

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930