Parliament, Sunday 3 November – National Assembly Speaker Ms Thandi Modise will represent Parliament of the Republic of South Africa at the sixth Summit of the Heads of Parliaments of G20 countries, called the G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit, tomorrow.

The summit, taking place in Tokyo, Japan, aims to strengthen the role of legislatures in global affairs. The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) – the largest and oldest global parliamentary platform – and the House of Councillors of the National Diet (Parliament) of Japan are hosting the summit.

Participating Speakers will discuss promotion of free, open and fair trade and investment; utilisation of innovative technology towards a human-centred future society; and efforts towards resolution of global challenges and achievement of the Sustainable Development (including financing for development and transparent and effective government). Speaker Modise will address the summit on all these issues.

They are also expected to adopt a joint statement, reflecting on issues agreed at the 2019 G20 Leaders’ Summit in June.

That summit committed the participating G20 leaders, including President Cyril Ramaphosa, to make united efforts to address major global economic challenges, to foster economic growth and to pave the way towards an inclusive and sustainable world, as envisioned in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Also addressed were specific issues. These included innovation and data free-flow, quality infrastructure investment, anti-corruption measures, labour and employment, women’s empowerment, global health issues, and global climate change, energy and environmental challenges.

Parliaments of G20 countries play a crucial role, as oversight authorities, in ensuring governments are held accountable for implementation of decisions.

The President of the House of Councillors, National Diet of Japan, Ms Akiko Santo and IPU President Ms Gabriela Cuevas Barron will address the opening and closing sessions of the summit.

Last year, Ms Modise participated in the 2018 Speakers’ Summit held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, which preceded the 2018 G20 Leaders’ Summit.

The G20 is made up of 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of Korea, South Africa, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930