Parliament, Thursday 21 February 2019 –  The National Assembly today adopted a resolution that the House be dissolved in line with section 50 of the Constitution – which deals specifically with the “dissolution of National Assembly before expiry of its term”.

The dissolution of the House was made necessary because the date of the election has been set for 8 May, which is before the term of the current National Assembly ends.

With the National Assembly having resolved to dissolve itself, President Cyril Ramaphosa will now dissolve the House in terms of his powers provided for in the Constitution. Once the President has dissolved the House, he will then proclaim the date of the elections, which is 8 May, as announced during the State of the Nation Address.

The House remains competent to function from the time it is dissolved until the day before the first day of polling for the next National Assembly.

The House also agreed to suspend Rules 333(2) and 351(2), which would have resulted in Bills and other business lapsing when the House is dissolved.

Members of the National Council of Provinces, on the other hand, will rise on 28 March. However, they will remain in office until after the scheduled elections, until the day of the first sitting of the Provincial Legislatures.



Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930