Parliament, Friday, 26 May 2023 – The Speaker of the National Assembly, Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula will lead a delegation of the South African Parliament to the Executive Committee (EXCO) of the SADC Parliamentary Forum that is scheduled to take place from 27 to 28 May 2023 in Mahe, Seychelles.

The EXCO is holding this meeting before the 53rd SADC Parliamentary Forum Plenary Assembly Session that is scheduled to take place in Dar Es Salam - Tanzania from 2 to 8 July 2023.

The meeting is to receive reports from the President of the Forum and sub-committees on progress made in the implementation of its decisions and the programme of action towards regional economic integration as well as safety and security. The Forum is also expected to review its financial situation and assess the state of readiness for the 53rd SADC PF Plenary Assembly in Tanzania.

The SADC PF is composed of 15 Parliaments of countries that are in the Southern African region, representing over 3500 parliamentarians. Member Parliaments of the SADC PF include Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The Speaker will be accompanied by Mr Darren Bergman, a Member of Parliament from the Democratic Alliance, and by the Secretary to Parliament, Mr Xolile George.

Enquiries: Parliament Spokesperson - Moloto Mothapo