To download a soundbite of Parliament Spokesperson, Mr Moloto Mothapo, on this statement please click on the following link:

Parliament, Tuesday 20 September 2022 – The National Assembly (NA) has, during its plenary sitting today, adopted the report of the Joint Committee on Ethics and Members’ Interest recommending that four Members of the House be reprimanded for contravening the Code of Ethical Conduct and Disclosure of Members’ Interests (“the Code”).

“The Code” (Item 9.2.1 read with item 9.2.3) prescribes that Members of Parliament must disclose their registrable interests annually at a time determined by the Joint Committee on Ethics and Members’ Interests (“the Committee”).

Of the 454 Members who are required to submit their disclosures only four – Mr Elphas Buthelezi, Mr MkhulekoHlengwa, Ms Ponani Makhubele and Ms Brenda Mathevula- missed the 30 November 2021 submission deadline.

Item 9.2.2 of “the Code” states that if a Member has no registrable interests, a “nil” return must be submitted, therefore, a Member breaches the Code if he or she fails to comply with the requirements.

After careful consideration of each Members’ case and representation the Joint Committee recommended that the House impose a penalty in terms of item (i) of “the Code.” The four Members were each reprimanded in the House for their late disclosures.

During the sitting the NA also approved the Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services’ report on the draft notice from the President of the Republic on the intended determination of the salaries and allowances of the Public Protector, Deputy Public Protector and Commissioners of the South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC) - in terms of the Determination of Remuneration of Office-Bearers of Independent Constitutional Institutions Laws Amendment Act, 2014.

For the 2021/22 financial year, the Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers recommended a 3% salary increment for all public office bearers and all office bearers of the Independent Constitutional Institutions.

Having considered the above, the Committee recommended that the NA approves the draft notices determining the salaries and allowances of the Public Protector, Deputy Public Protector and commissioners of the SAHRC with effect from 1 April 2021.

Two other reports, from the Portfolio Committee on Police on the Draft Regulations of the Critical Infrastructure Protection Act and the Portfolio Committee on Employment and Labour’s on the Compensation for Occupational Injuries and Diseases Amendment Bill, were also adopted by the House during its sitting today.

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930