Parliament, Monday, 24 August 2020 – The Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services calls for public comment on the shortlisted five candidates to fill the vacancy that exists at the Information Regulator.

After the committee shortlisted suitable candidates last Friday, it said the interviews and screening will follow after it has received public comment on the candidates. The candidates (whose CVs can be viewed below) are:

Prof Justine Limpitlaw
Prof Alison Gillwald
Ms Katlego Dolamo
Ms Allison Tilley
Dr Prittish Dala

According to the Protection of Personal Information Act which governs the Information Regulator, members of the Regulator must be appropriately qualified, fit and proper persons with at least one of whom must be appointed on account of experience as a practising advocate or attorney or a professor of law at a university, and the remainder of whom must be appointed on account of any other qualifications, expertise and experience relating to the objectives of the Regulator.

The following disqualifies a person for appointment to the Regulator: if a person is not a citizen of the Republic, is a public servant, is a Member of Parliament and any provincial legislature or any municipal council, is an office bearer or employee of any political party, is an unrehabilitated insolvent, has been declared by a court to be mentally ill or unfit, or has at any time been convicted, whether in the Republic or elsewhere, of any offence involving dishonesty.

Comments must reach Mr Vhonani Ramaano, Committee Secretary, 3rd Floor, 90 Plein Street, Cape Town, 8000 / PO Box 15, Cape Town, 8001/ by no later than 4 September 2020 at 16:00. Enquiries: Mr V Ramaano, tel: (021) 403-3820, cell: 083 709 8427.


For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairperson, please contact the committee’s Media Officer:

Name: Rajaa Azzakani (Ms)
Tel: 021 403 8437
Cell: 081 703 9542