To download soundbite by Parliament Spokesperson Moloto Mothapo, click the link:

Parliament, Wednesday 7 April 2021 – National Assembly (NA) Speaker Ms Thandi Modise has received the names of NA Members of Parliament who will constitute the Section 194 Committee, which will enquire into whether or not there are grounds for the removal from office of Public Protector Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane.

The Committee’s 26 members come from each of the 14 political parties represented in the NA. 11 will be voting members of the committee and another 15 will be non-voting members. Parties had until 31 March to submit names and these names have been published in the Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports official publication of Parliament, dated 7 April 2021.

African National Congress
Dlakude, Ms Doris Eunice
Dyantyi, Mr Qubudile Richard
Joemat-Pettersson, Ms Tina Monica
Gungubele, Mr Mondli
Hermans, Ms Judy
Nkosi, Mr Bekizwe Simon
Mapulane, Mr Mohlopi Phillemon (Alternate)
Mgweba, Ms Teiliswa (Alternate)

Democratic Alliance 
Lotriet, Dr Annelie
Schreiber, Dr Leon Amos

Economic Freedom Fighters 
Malema, Mr Julius Sello

Inkatha Freedom Party 
Majozi, Ms Zandile

Freedom Front Plus 
Mulder, Dr Cornelius Petrus

African National Congress 
Tolashe, Ms Nokuzola Gladys
Nqola, Mr Xola

Democratic Alliance 
Nodada, Mr Baxolile Babongile

Economic Freedom Fighters
Maotwe, Ms Omphile Mankoba Confidence

Inkatha Freedom Party
Msimang, Prof Christian Themba

Freedom Front Plus
Denner, Ms Heloise

African Christian Democratic Party
Sukers, Ms Marie Elizabeth

United Democratic Movement
Holomisa, Mr Bantubonke Harrington

African Transformation Movement
Marawu, Ms Thandiswa Linnen

August, Mr Shaun

National Freedom Party
Shaik-Emam, Mr Ahmed Munzoor

African Independent Congress
Ntshayisa, Mr Lulama Maxwell

Congress of the People
Madisha, Mr William Mothipa

Pan Africanist Congress
Nyhontso, Mr Mzwanele

Al Jama-ah
Hendricks, Mr Mogamad Ganief Ebrahim

The NA voted in favour of establishing the committee at its sitting on 16 March, after adopting the report of an Independent Panel of experts which recommended that such a committee be established.

The NA Rules require the Section 194 Committee to conduct the inquiry, to establish whether the charges are sustainable and to report to the NA.

The Committee’s report must contain findings, recommendations and reasons and must be scheduled for consideration and debate with appropriate urgency.

The Committee, which must conclude its business within reasonable time frame, must elect its Chairperson at its first meeting.

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930