Ms Elizabeth Dipuo Peters

National Assembly
Deputy Minister of Small Business Development
Party: African National Congress on the National List


082 045 0241


Dipuo Peters

Parliament Membership History

1994 - 1997 NA Member (Whip)

1997 - 2009 NCape Provincial Legislature (Chief Whip)

2009 - 2017 NA Member

Political Leadership Background

Became politically active at a young age during high school and in the Young Christian Students Movement. Was central to building students and youth anti-apartheid structures in Galeshewe, the Northern Cape Region, Northern Transvaal and South Africa broadly. In 1987, Dipuo Peters was elected to the National Executive Committee of the South African Youth Congress, an umbrella organization of youth formations affiliated to the United Democratic Front.

She was at the same period a volunteer organizer and worker educator of the South African Domestic Workers Union, an affiliate of the Congress of South African Trade Unions.

After the unbanning of political organizations and the release of political prisoners, Ms Peters was part of the contingent of youth leaders in the Provisional National Youth Council appointed to lead the charge in Re -establishing the African National Congress Youth League and to organize its first ever Congress under conditions of legality.

Ms Peters, was subsequently deployed to the Northern Cape and Free State to work for the UNITED Nations High Commission for Refugees subcommittee named The National Coordinating Committee for the Repatriation of Exiles and Reintegration of Political Prisoners. With the subsequent conclusion of this mandate she was employed as a Social Worker at the Association for Physically Disabled in the Northern Cape. A position she held till her deployment to the National Assembly as part of the first cohort of ANC Members of Parliament in a democratically elected Constituent Assembly where she was given the responsibility of as Whip.

In 1997, she was redeployed to the Northern Cape Legislature and was appointed Chiefwhip.

1987 – 1991: Secretary for Women in SA Youth Congress (ANCYL)

1985 – 1987: Organiser of the South African Domestic Workers Union in Ncape

1990 – Present: ANC Member and ANC Women’s League

1996 – 2004: Member of ANC Provincial Executive Committee 

1996 – 2003: Provincial Treasurer of the ANC

2003 – 2004: Acting Provincial Chairperson of ANC

1997 – 2007 and 2014 – 2017: ANC NEC Member

2003 – 2008: ANC Women’s League NEC member

1999 – 2004: MEC of Health in Ncape

2004 – 2009: Premier of Northern Cape

2009 -2013: Minister of Energy, Republic of South Africa

2013 – 2017: Minister of Transport, Republic of RSA


Degree in Social Work at the then University of the North, now University of Limpopo.


Church, community work and working with children.

Past Committee Memberships

1994 - 1997: PC on Public Works

1994-1996: Constitutional Assembly, Thematic Committee

1994 – 1997: PC on Social Development

Political Ideas / Achievements Goals & Ambitions for the country

Whatever task you are given, do it to the best of your ability