To amend the— ● Electoral Commission Act, 1996, so as to accommodate independent candidacy in relation to the powers and functions of the Commission; to provide that keeping abreast with electoral technological developments be included as a function of the Commission; to provide for the establishment of an Electoral Technology Committee; to provide for the registration of a party in respect of all constituencies or such constituencies as selected by the party; to provide for, and regulate, the registration of independent candidates; and ● Electoral Act, 1998, so as to provide that the Commission must administer the Act in a manner conducive to free and fair elections; to delete sections in the Act which allow the chief electoral officer to not register a person as a voter if that person has been declared by the High Court to be of unsound mind or mentally disordered or is detained under the Mental Health Care Act, 2002 (Act No. 17 of 2002); to provide that the lists of candidates submitted by a registered party intending to contest an election must be accompanied by a personal manifesto signed by each candidate setting out how and to what extent that candidate is committed to making real the rights enshrined in Chapter 2 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, and also a list of supporters to validate the nomination of that candidate; to give full effect to section 19(3)(b) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, by providing for an adult citizen to stand for public office as an independent candidate without having to stand for office through his or her membership of a political party and, if elected, to hold office; to promote democratic governance and electoral accountability through both an open list voting system and a constituency based system; to provide for the establishment of constituencies and the review of constituency boundaries; to amend certain Schedules and to substitute Schedule 1A, and to provide for matters connected therewith.
Portfolio Committee
National Assembly
Select Committee
National Council of Provinces
Sent for Assent


If you would like to read or download the latest version of the bill, please click below.


Introduced by: Mr M G P Lekota, MP

Electoral Laws Second Amendment Bill (B34-2020) 2020-12-04