



OVERSIGHT AND MONITORING VISIT:

STATE OF SCHOOLING 2017

EDUCATION DISTRICTS
WESTERN CAPE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

COMMITTEES

FU Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403-2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403-3205 www.parliament.gov.ra

PROGRAME PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE ON BASIC EDUCATION

Parliament of South Africa

DRAFT PROGRAMME: 31 July – 4 August 2017

THE PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE ON BASIC EDUCATION

Day 1: Monday, 31 July 2017

06:30 – 08:00	J	Delegation shuttled from Parliamentary Villages to the Western Cape Education Department Offices (Boardroom 4, 2 nd Floor, Grand Central Building)	
08:00 – 11:00	and District Offic	Meeting: National Department of Basic Education, WCED (including the Office of the MEC, HOD, Senior and District Officials), Portfolio Committee on Education (Provincial Legislature), SGB Associations, Organised Labour, SA Principals Association) (Boardroom 4, 2 nd Floor, Grand Central Building)	
11:30 – 18:00	Visit to Schools:		
	11:30 – 13:00 13:30 – 15:00 15:30 – 17:00 17:30 – 19:00	Langa Secondary School (Langa) (15min/12km) Thembani Primary (Langa) (5 min/450m) Manenberg Secondary School (Manenberg) (13min/9.5km) Or Mount View Sec (Hanover Park) (12min/9.9km) Nompumelelo School (Gugulethu) (11min/7km)	

Day 2: Tuesday, 1 August 2017

10:30 - 18:00	DELEGATION SPLIT INTO TWO (2) TEAMS
08:30 – 10:00	Visits to School: Siviwe School of Skills (Gugulethu)
06:30 – 08:00	Delegation shuttled from Parliamentary Villages to Siviwe School of Skills (Gugulethu)

Team A: Hon N Gina, Hon T M Z Khoza, Hon I Ollis, Hon C N Majeke, Mr D Bandi, Mr M Kekana, Ms R Azzakani (2 x 7-seater vans)

Team B: Hon N Mokoto, Hon H D Khosa, Hon N Tarabella-Marchesi, Hon X Ngwezi, Mr L Brown, Mr M Erasmus (1 x 7-seater van)

Time	Team A:	Team B
10:30 - 12:00	Fezeka Secondary School (Gugulethu)(800m)	10:30 – 12:00 Sizimisele Secondary School
		(Khayalitsha)(24min/17.9km)
12:30 – 14:00	Ikamvalethu Secondary School (Langa)(12min/7km)	13:00 – 14:30 Dawn Special School, Atlantis (1H05min/68.8km)
14:30 – 16:00	Khayalitsha Special School (19min/18.4km)	14:30 – 16:00 Welgemeend Primary School, Malmesbury
		(34min/39.1km)
16:30 - 18:00	Bulumko Secondary School (4min/1.9km)	16:30 – 18:00 Anne Pienaar Gedenk Primary School (Jakkalsfontein
		Farm) (22min/198.3km)

Day 3: Wednesday, 2 August 2017

16:00 – 18:30	DELEGATION SPLIT INTO TWO (2) TEAMS
14:00 – 16:00	Centre of Science and Technology (COSAT) (20min/17.1km) OR Siphamandla Secondary School (Khayalitsha) (21min/23.7km)
11:30 – 13:00	Cape Teaching and Leadership Institute (Kuilsriver) (32min/42.8km)
08:00 – 10:00	Ronwe Primary School (including follow-up with Cape Winelands District)
07:30 – 08:00	Delegation shuttled from Oak Tree Lodge, Paarl to Ronwe Primary School

Time	Team A	Team B
16:30 - 18:30	Oasis LSEN (Belhar) (19min/15.6km)	Florida School of Skills (Ruyterwacht) (32min/21.4km)

Day 4: Thursday, 3 August 2017

05:00 Delegation shuttled from Villages to Cape Town International Airport

07:15 – 08:05 Delegation fly from Cape Town to George

09:00 – 10:30 Engagement with District Officials in George (14min/10.2km)

11:00 – 18:00 Visits to Schools

Time	Team A (George)	Team B (Knysna)
11:00 – 12:30	Imizamo Yethu Secondary School (14min/6.3km)	11:30 – 13:00 Thembelitcha Primary School (1h30min/65.2km)
13:00 – 14:30	Feeder Primary to Imizamo Yethu SS (to be identified)	13:30 – 15:00 Concordia High School (9min/700m)
15:00 – 16:30	Thembalethu Secondary School	15:30 – 17:00 Percy Medala High (7min/2.9km)
17:00 – 18:30	Feeder Primary to Thembalethu SS (to be identified)	17:30 – 18:30 Brackenhill Ek Primary (9min/4.4km)

END OF ITINERARY.