No 1 – 2019] FIRST SESSION, SIXTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES

THURSDAY, 23 MAY 2019

- 1. Delegates assembled in the Chamber of the National Council of Provinces at 10:40.
- 2. The Usher announced the Honourable Chief Justice of South Africa, Justice Mogoeng Thomas Reetsang Mogoeng, who was received by members standing.
- 3. The Chief Justice took the Chair and requested the rendition of the National Anthem by the Parliamentary Choir.
- 4. The Chief Justice requested members to observe a moment of silence for prayers or meditation.
- 5. The Chief Justice stated that the meeting had been convened in terms of section 64(4) of the Constitution and requested permanent delegates to swear or affirm faithfulness to the Republic and obedience to the Constitution in terms of section 62(6) of the Constitution.
- 6. The following members made and subscribed the oath or solemn affirmation:

Apleni, T; Arnolds, A; Aucamp, WAS; Bara, MR; Bebee, LC; Boshoff, HS; Brauteseth, TJ; Carrim, YI; Christians, DC; Cloete, AB; Dodovu, TSC; Du Toit, SF; Gillion, M; Gxoyiya, AB; Koni, NP; Labuschagne, C; Landsman, ER; Lehihi, SB; Londt, JJ; Lucas, SE; Luthuli, SA; Mahlangu, DG; Maleka, AD; Mamaregane, ML; Masondo, NA; Mathevula, BT; Matibe, TB; Mfayela, SE; Michalakis, G; Mkiva, Z; Mmoiemang, KM; Mmola, MP; Modise, TC; Mohai, SJ; Moletsane, MS; Moshodi, ML; Motsamai, K; Mthethwa, ME; Nchabeleng, ME; Ncitha, ZV; Ndongeni, N; Ngwenya, W;

- Nhanha, M; Njandu, E; Ntsube, I; Nyambi, AJ; Rayi, MI; Ryder, DR; Shaikh, S; Sileku, IM; Smit, CFB; Visser, C; Zandamela, S.
- 7. The Chief Justice announced that Rules as contemplated in item 9 of Part A of Schedule 3 to the Constitution had been made available to members.
- 8. The Chief Justice further announced the appointment of Ms P Tyawa as Returning Officer, and as Assistant Returning Officers, Adv M E Phindela, Adv B N Nonyane, Ms V H Mnana, Ms S Bowers, Adv M C Mbebe, Adv M K Skolo, Ms S Ally, and Mr L Nxelewa.
- 9. [11:14] The Council proceeded to the election of a Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 10. The Chief Justice reminded the delegates that nominations should be submitted in the prescribed form and duly seconded.
- 11. The Chief Justice informed members that in terms of item 4 of Part A of Schedule 3 to the Constitution no debate would be allowed.
- 12. The Chief Justice called for nomination of candidates in terms of item 2 of Part A of Schedule 3 to the Constitution.
- 13. Mr Yunus Ismail Carrim from KwaZulu-Natal, seconded by Mr Tebogo Job Mokgoro from North West, nominated, Mr Nkosiyakhe Amos Masondo for Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 14. The Returning Officer reported to the Chief Justice that the nomination paper had been properly completed.
- 15. There being no further nominations, the Chief Justice declared Mr Nkosiyakhe Amos Masondo duly elected as Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 16. The Chief Justice, on behalf of all present, congratulated Mr Masondo on his election as Chairperson and requested him to take the Chair.
- 17. The Usher conducted the Chairperson to the Chair and placed the Black Rod in position at the Chair.
- 18. The Chairperson announced that Ms P Tyawa has been appointed as a Returning Officer, and Adv M E Phindela, Adv B N Nonyane, Ms V H Mnana, Ms S Bowers, Adv M C Mbebe, Adv M K Skolo, Ms S Ally, and Mr L Nxelewa, as Assistant Returning Officers.
- 19. [11:20] The Council proceeded to the election of Permanent Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 20. The Chairperson reminded the delegates that nominations should be submitted in the prescribed form and duly seconded.

- 21. The Chairperson informed members that in terms of item 4 of Part A of Schedule 3 to the Constitution no debate would be allowed.
- 22. The Chairperson called for nomination of candidates in terms of item 2 of Part A of Schedule 3 to the Constitution.
- 23. Ms Sefora Hixsonia Ntombela from Free State, seconded by Mr Archibold Jomo Nyambi from Mpumalanga, nominated, Ms Sylvia Elizabeth Lucas for election as Permanent Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 24. The Returning Officer reported to the Chairperson that the nomination paper had been properly completed.
- 25. There being no further nominations, the Chairperson declared Ms Sylvia Elizabeth Lucas duly elected as Permanent Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.
- 26. The Chairperson, on behalf of all present, congratulated Ms Lucas on her election as Permanent Deputy Chairperson.
- 27. [11:26] The Council proceeded to the election of the Chief Whip of the National Council of Provinces.
- 28. The Chairperson reminded the delegates that nominations should be submitted in the prescribed form and duly seconded.
- 29. The Chairperson called for nomination of candidates.
- 30. Ms Zukiswa Veronica Ncitha from Eastern Cape, seconded by Mr Charlie Sekwati from Limpopo, nominated, Mr Seiso Joel Mohai for election as the Chief Whip of the National Council of Provinces.
- 31. The Returning Officer reported to the Chairperson that the nomination paper had been properly completed.
- 32. There being no further nominations, the Chairperson declared Mr Seiso Joel Mohai duly elected as the Chief Whip of the National Council of Provinces.
- 33. The Chairperson, on behalf of all present, congratulated Mr Mohai on his election as the Chief Whip of the Council.
- 34. [11:30] Delegation Heads of the various provinces, representatives from SALGA, political parties represented in the Council, Chief Whip of the Council, Permanent Deputy Chairperson and Chairperson were afforded the opportunity to convey congratulatory messages and address the Council.
- 35. Priest Guru Krishna, a representative of the Hindu Community, Rabbi Dovid Wineberg,, a representative of the Jewish Community, Moulana Shafiek Nolan, a representative of the Muslim Judicial Council and Pastor Salama

Temmers, a representative of the Spirit Life Christian Church rendered Closing Prayers

36. The Council adjourned at 12:10.

P TYAWA Acting Secretary to Parliament