PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403 2911 www.parliament.gov.za

Parliament: Following up on our commitments to the people

AD HOC COMMITTEE ON THE FUNDING OF POLITICAL PARTIES

Chairperson: Mr Vincent Smith, MP

Review of the Public Funding of Represented Political Parties Act (and related matters)

Public Hearing Programme

15 to 18 August 2017

Date	Time	Item	Presenter
Tuesday, 15	09h00	Opening Remarks	Chairperson
August 2017	09h15	Human Sciences Research	Mr Gary Pienaar (Senior
09h00-18h30		Council (30 mins)	Research Manager)
Old Assembly	09h45	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
Chamber	10h30	Public Affairs Research Institute	• Mr Crispian Olver
		(30 mins)	(Project Lead)
			• Mr Ryan Brunette
			(Researcher)
	11h00	Tea	
	11h15	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	12h00	My Vote Counts (30 mins)	Ms Janine Ogle (National
			Coordinator)
	12h30	Questions for clarity	All
	13h15	Lunch	
	14h00	Corruption Watch (30 mins)	Ms Leanne Govindsamy
			(Head: Legal and Investigations)
			Ms Modupi Moloto (Legal intern)
	14h30	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	15h15	South African History Archive	Ms Toerien van Wyk (Co-
	131113	(20 mins)	Director)
	15h45	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	16h30	Tea	
	16h45	Right2Know Campaign (30 mins)	• Mr Murray Hunter

			(Organiser: Secrecy and
			Securitisation)
			Ms Nomacebo Mbayo
			(Western Cape
			Administrator)
			· ·
	17h05	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	18h25	Closing remarks	Chairperson
Wednesday,	09h00	Opening remarks	Chairperson
16 August	09h15	Council for the Advancement of	Mr Lawson Naidoo
2017		the South African Constitution	(Executive Director)
09h00-19h00		(30 mins)	Prof. Richard Calland
Old Assembly Chamber			Mr Mike Law
Chamber	09h45	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	10h30	Forum for Cape Flats Civics (15	• TBC
		mins)	
	10h45	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	11h15	Tea	
	11h30	Democracy Development	Mr Paul Kariuki (Vice
		Programme (15 mins)	Chairperson)
	11h45	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	12h15	South African Catholic Bishops	• Adv. Mike Pothier
		Conference (20 mins)	(Research Coordinator)
			• Fr Peter-John Pearson
			(Director)
	12h45	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	13h15	Lunch	
	14h15	COOL Youth Church (15 mins)	Pastor Gavin Ferrier
	14h30	Questions for clarity (20 mins)	All
	14h50	Azanian People's Organisation	Mr Strike Thokoane
		(30 mins)	(National Deputy
			President)

	15h15	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	16h00	Tea	
	16h15	African National Congress (30	• Dr Zweli Mkhize
		mins)	(Treasurer-General)
	16h45	Questions for clarity (45 mins)	All
	17h30	Mr Lwando Scott (10 mins)	
	17h40	Mr Keith Gottschalk (10 mins)	
	17h50	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	18h20	Congress of South African Trade	Mr Matthews Parks
		Unions (15 mins)	(Parliamentary
			Coordinator)
	18h35	Questions for clarity (30 mins)	All
	19h05	Closing remarks	Chairperson
Thursday, 17	14h00	Opening remarks	Chairperson
August 2017	14h10	Briefing by the Independent	Mr Terry Tselane (Vice
14h00-17h00		Electoral Commission on the	Chairperson)
Old Assembly		administration of public funding	Ms Ester de Wet (Acting
Chamber		to political parties (30 mins)	Chief Financial Officer)
			• Ms B Ranyane
			(Represented Political
			Parties Fund: Administration)
			·
			Mr Mlungisi Kelembe (Office of the
			Chairperson)
			Mr Marco Granelli (Office
			of the CEO)
	14h40	Questions for clarity (60 mins)	All
	15h40	Briefing by the Independent	Mr Terry Tselane (Vice
		Electoral Commission on its	Chairperson)
		research into the private funding	Ms Ester de Wet (Acting
		of political parties (45 mins)	Chief Financial Officer)

			Ms B Ranyane (Represented Political Parties Fund: Administration) Mr Mlungisi Kelembe (Office of the Chairperson) Mr Marco Granelli (Office of the CEO)
	16h35	Tea	
	16h50	Questions for clarity (60 mins)	All
	17h00	Closing remarks	Chairperson
Friday, 18	09h00	National Treasury's response to	TBC
August 2017		budget/National Treasury-related	
09h00-17h00		issues raised during the	
Old Assembly		hearings	
Chamber	11h15	Tea	
	11h30	Input by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development	Mr John Jeffery (Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development)
	12h00	Deliberations	All
	13h00	Lunch	
	14h00	Deliberations	All
	15h30	Теа	
	15h45	Deliberations	All
	17h00	Closing remarks	Chairperson