

Youth Parliament 26 June 2020

"Youth Power- Growing South Africa together in a time of Covid-19".

SESSION ONE

Programme Director: Hon. Ms. S E Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces

Co-Chairperson: Hon Mr. X. Nqola, MP

Member of Justice and Correctional Services Portfolio Committee

TIME	TOPIC / FOCUS	SPEAKER	
08h00 - 08h50 08h55 - 09h00 09h00 - 09h05	Test Period Commences (Zoom) Moment of Silence for Prayer and Meditation Welcome Address ALL Ms SE Lucas, MP Deputy Chairperson, National Provinces		
09h05 - 09h30	Key Note Address: Contextualizing South Africa's Transformation Trajectory - Equipping Young People to Respond decisively to South Africa's Economic Challenges	Hon Ms P. Majodina, MP Chief Whip of the majority Party	
09h30 - 09h40	The Role of Young Parliamentarians in advancing the Youth Empowerment Agenda across the three Spheres: The need for institutionalizing organized structures for youth empowerment across the three spheres Hon. Ms K. D. Mahlatsi, MP Member of Agriculture, Land Rural Development Portfolio C		
09h40 - 09h50	National Council of Provinces: The role of the NCOP in advancing Youth Economic Empowerment through Outcome Based Oversight	Hon Mr. I. Ntsube, MP Member of the Social Services Select Committee Select Committee	
09h50 - 10h00	Local Government: Youth Empowerment at Local Government: Integrated Planning Perspectives to Advance Youth Empowerment at Local Government	Cllr. M.P. Hlungwane South African Local Government Association	

SESSION TWO

Session Chairperson: Hon. Ms. S E Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces

Co-Chairperson: Hon Mr. L. Mphithi, MP

Member of Portfolio Committee on Youth, Women and People with Disabilities				
STATEMENTS: PROVINCIAL LEGISLATURES "Youth Power- Growing South Africa together in a time of Covid-19".				
10h05 - 10h10	Free State Province	Hon Mr. G Brown, MPL MEC of Finance, Free State Province		
10h10 - 10h15	Kwa-Zulu Natal Province	Hon Mr. K. Mshengu, MPL MEC, Basic Education, KZN Province		
10h15 - 10h20	Limpopo Province	Hon CDB Selane, MPL North West Provincial Legislature		
10h20 - 10h25	Northern Cape Province	Hon Mr. O. Maneng Northern Cape Provincial Legislature		
10h25 - 10h30	North West Province	Hon Motsumi, MPL North West Provincial Legislature		
10h30 - 10h35	Western Cape Province	Hon Ms. D. Baartman, MPL Western Cape Provincial Legislature		

SESSION THREE

Programme Director: Hon SL Tsenoli, MP

Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

Co-Chairperson: Hon. I Ntsube, MP

Member of Select Committee on Social Services

STATEMENTS: Youth Formations "Youth Power- Growing South Africa together in a time of Covid-19".

10h35 - 10h40	SA Youth Council	Mr. T. Sibiya
		Head of Policy and Research
10h40 - 10h45	Youth in Business South Africa	Ms. M. Sakuneka
		President, Youth in Business South Africa
10h45 - 10h50	South African National Women's Forum	Ms. N. Maponopono
		Representative
10h50 - 10h55	Financial Sector Coalition	Mr. S. Mgolombane
		Representative
10h55 - 11h00	BMF Young Professionals	Mr. M. Dube
		BMF Young Professionals, Western Cape
		Provincial Chairperson
		Mr. T. Mmbegeni
11h00 - 11h05	South African Youth Movement Tertiary Cooperative	President, South African Youth Movement
		Tertiary Cooperative
11h05 – 11h10	NUM Youth	Mr. B. Mrasi
		NUM Youth, National Secretary
11h10 - 11h15	Embrace Diversity Movement	Mr. T. Mokwati
		Head: Policy and Planning
		Ms L. Mlabatheki
11h15 - 1120	Free State Rainbow Seeds Queer Change Makers Movement	Free State Rainbow Seeds Queer Change
		Makers Movement
11h20 – 11h25	Traxtion Sheltam	Ms. Z. Simamane
		Traxtion Shaltam
11h25 – 11h30	Arts and Culture	Ms A Rhode
		Cultural & Creative Industries Federation of
		South Africa (CCFSA)

SESSION FOUR

Session Chairperson: Hon Mr. S. L. Tsenoli, MP

Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

Co-Chairperson: Hon Mr. L. Mphithi

Member of Portfolio Committee on Youth, Women and People with Disabilities

PARTY STATEMENTS: "Youth Power- Growing South Africa together in a time of Covid-19".

	PARTY	TIME (minutes)	
11h35 - 11h47	DA	12	Hon L. Mphithi, MP
11h47 - 11h52	ACDP	4	Hon B Luthuli, MP
11h52 - 11h56	UDM	4	Mr Y Zigebe
11h56 - 12h02	GOOD	4	Ms P jacobs
12h00 - 12h04	NFP	4	Ms T Mohamed-Fakier
12h04 - 12h08	AIC	4	Mr A. Mbizafa
401.00 401.4		_	
12h08 - 12h1	ATM	4	Mr. C Moji
12h12 - 12h16	Al' Jama-ah	4	Mr. L. Patiwe
12h16 - 12h20	COPE	4	Mr S. Sijadu
12h20 - 12h25	IFP	5	Hon MN Nxumalo, MP
12h25 - 12h35	ANC	10	Hon Ms S. Mkhize, MP
12h35 - 12h45	ANC	10	Hon Ms. J. Mananiso, MP

SESSION FIVE

Programme Director: Mr SL Tsenoli, MP

Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

Co-Chairpersons: Hon X. Nqola, MP

Member of Portfolio Committee on Women Youth and People with Disabilities

Hon Mr. I Ntsube, MP

Member of Select Committee on Social Services

"Youth Power- Growing South Africa together in a time of Covid-19".

12h45 – 13h55	Interactive Session: Comments & Discussion	
		ALL
13h55 - 14h00	Closing Remarks/Way forward	Ms. SE Lucas, MP
		Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces