# **ELECTRONIC VOTING**

# PROCEEDINGS OF NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES – 27 NOVEMBER 2019

1. The bells are rung at 13:55.

The CHAIRPERSON: Bow to the right and left.

2. The CHAIRPERSON (standing): There will now be an opportunity for silent prayer or meditation.

(Afterwards) The CHAIRPERSON: **Please be seated.** 

#### OR

# <u>Tshivenda</u>

The CHAIRPERSON (standing): Zwino ri do vha na tshifhinga tsha thabelo ya u phumula kana u elekanya.

The CHAIRPERSON: Vhathu vha nga dzula zwavho.

(Thereafter)

3. The CHAIRPERSON: Order! Honourable Members, in accordance with Council Rule 247(1) there will be no notices of motion or motions without notice, except the Motion on the Order Paper.

(Thereafter)

4. The CHAIRPERSON: We now come to the First Motion on the Order Paper as printed in the name of the Chief Whip. Chief Whip ....

#### (Afterwards)

The CHAIRPERSON: As there is no speakers' list, I shall now put the Question. The Question is that the Motion be agreed to. As the decision is dealt with in terms of section 65 of the Constitution, I shall first ascertain whether all the delegation heads are present in the Chamber to cast their provinces votes. Are all the delegation heads present?

In accordance with Rule 71, I shall first allow provinces the opportunity to make their declarations of vote, if they so wish.

(Maximum 3 minutes per declaration)

(Thereafter)

The CHAIRPERSON: We shall now proceed to the voting on the Question. I shall do this in alphabetical order per province. Heads of Delegation will vote by pressing "IN FAVOUR", "AGAINST" or "ABSTAIN" buttons.

(Afterwards)

I now call upon the provinces

Eastern Cape Free State Gauteng Kwazulu-Natal Limpopo Mpumalanga Northern Cape North West Western Cape

(Thereafter) The CHAIRPERSON: Have all the Heads of delegation voted? If so,

voting will now close.

#### (Afterwards)

### (If five or more provinces are in favour)

The CHAIRPERSON: X number of provinces voted in favour. I therefore declare the Motion agreed to in terms of section 65 of the Constitution.

(Thereafter)

5. The CHAIRPERSON: We now come to the Second Motion on the Order Paper as printed in the name of the Chief Whip. Chief Whip ....

# (Afterwards)

The CHAIRPERSON: As there is no speakers' list, I shall now put the Question. The Question is that the Motion be agreed to. As the decision is dealt with in terms of section 65 of the Constitution, I shall first ascertain whether all the delegation heads are present in the Chamber to cast their provinces votes. Are all the delegation heads present?

In accordance with Rule 71, I shall first allow provinces the opportunity to make their declarations of vote, if they so wish.

(Maximum 3 minutes per declaration)

(Thereafter)

The CHAIRPERSON: We shall now proceed to the voting on the Question. I shall do this in alphabetical order per province. Heads of Delegation will vote by pressing "IN FAVOUR", "AGAINST" or "ABSTAIN" buttons.

(Afterwards)

I now call upon the provinces

Eastern Cape Free State Gauteng Kwazulu-Natal Limpopo Mpumalanga

#### Northern Cape North West Western Cape

#### (Thereafter)

The CHAIRPERSON: Have all the Heads of delegation voted? If so, voting will now close.

# (Afterwards)

(If five or more provinces are in favour)

The CHAIRPERSON: X number of provinces voted in favour. I therefore declare the Motion agreed to in terms of section 65 of the Constitution.

(Thereafter)

# 6. The CHAIRPERSON: Order! The Secretary will read the First Order of the day.

[Secretary reads: Consideration of **Division of Revenue Amendment Bill** [B 15 – 2019] (National Assembly – sec 76) and Report of Select Committee on Appropriations thereon]

Thereafter follow speakers' list.

(Afterwards)

The CHAIRPERSON: That concludes the debate. I shall now put the Question. The Question is that the Bill be adopted.

In accordance with Rule 71, I shall first allow provinces the opportunity to make their declarations of vote, if they so wish.

(Maximum 3 minutes per declaration)

(Thereafter)

The CHAIRPERSON: We shall now proceed to the voting on the Question. Heads of Delegation will vote by pressing "IN FAVOUR", "AGAINST" or "ABSTAIN" buttons.

Afterwards:

I now call upon the provinces

Eastern Cape Free State Gauteng Kwazulu-Natal Limpopo Mpumalanga Northern Cape North West Western Cape

Thereafter:

The CHAIRPERSON: Have all the Heads of delegation voted? If so, voting will now close.

Afterwards:

(If five or more provinces are in favour)

The CHAIRPERSON: X number of provinces voted in favour. I therefore declare the Bill agreed to in terms of section 65 of the Constitution.

(Thereafter)

7. The CHAIRPERSON: Before we proceed to Questions, I would like to take this opportunity to welcome the Ministers /Deputy Ministers from the Economics Cluster.

Further, I would like to make the following remarks:

- The time for reply by the Minister to a question is five minutes.

- Only four supplementary questions are allowed per question.
- A member who has asked the initial question would be the first to be afforded an opportunity to ask a supplementary question.
- The time for asking supplementary question is two minutes.
- The time for reply to a supplementary question is four minutes.
- The supplementary question must emanate from the initial question.

I now call on the Minister/ Deputy Minister of ... to respond to Question number ... asked by Hon. ... .

8. The CHAIRPERSON: I would like to thank the Ministers/Deputy Ministers for availing themselves to take questions.

(Afterwards):

9. The CHAIRPERSON: That concludes the business of the day. Honourable members you are requested to remain standing until the procession has left the chamber. The House is adjourned.