

WOMEN'S PARLIAMENT

PARLIAMENT OF SOUTH AFRICA

28 August 2020

Theme: Generation Equality:

Advancing our collective efforts to end Gender Based Violence and Femicide

Session One Chairperson: Hon. Ms S E Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces

TIME	ACTIVITY	RESPONSIBLE PERSON
09h00 - 09h05 09h05 - 09h06 09h06 - 09h10	National Anthem Moment of Silence for Prayer and Meditation Opening Remarks	ALL ALL Hon. Ms S E Lucas, MP Deputy Chairperson of the NCOP
09h10 - 09h20	Message of Support from HE the President of the Republic	Pre-Recorded Message
09h20 - 09h40	Keynote Address on behalf of HE the President: Generation Equality: Advancing our collective Efforts to end Gender Based Violence and Femicide Giving an Overview of Progress made in implementing 2019 ERAP GBVF Executive Undertakings	Hon. Ms M Nkoana-Mashabane, MP Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and People with Disabilities
09h40 - 09h55	Legislative Sector Approach Advancing an Effective Legislative Sector Response in the Fight Against Gender Based Violence and Femicide: An Overview of the Legislative Sector's Response	Hon. Mr S L Tsenoli, MP Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
09h55 - 10h15	The Judiciary The Role of the Judiciary in giving effective Responses and Building Sound Institutional Practices in Cases involving Gender Based Violence and Femicide	Justice S Khampepe Acting Deputy Chief Justice

Session Two Chairperson: Hon NK Bilankulu, MP

Chairperson of the Multi-Party Women's Caucus

PROVINCIAL STATEMENTS: PREMIERS & SALGA

		Hon. Ms F. Nkomonye, MPL
		MEC for Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture, Eastern
10h15 - 10h25	Eastern Cape Province	Cape Province
		Hon. Ms S M Qabathe, MPL
10h25 - 10h35	Free State Province	Acting Premier of the Free State Province
		Hon. Ms F Mazibuko, MPL
10h35 - 10h45	Gauteng Province	MEC for Community Safety, Gauteng Province
		Hon. Mr S Zikalala, MPL
10h45 - 10h55	Kwa-Zulu Natal Province	Premier of Kwa-Zulu Natal Province
		Hon. Ms N C Rakgoale, MPL
10h55 - 11h05	Limpopo Province	MEC for Social Development, Limpopo Province



Session Four Chairperson:

Hon. Mr S L Tsenoli, MP

Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

11h05 - 11h15	Mpumalanga Province	Hon. Ms BT Shongwe, MPL MEC for Social Development, Mpumalanga Province
11h15 - 11h25	Northern Cape Province	Hon. Dr Z Saul, MPL Premier of the Northern Cape
11h25 - 11h35	North West Province	Hon. Prof TJ Mokgoro. MPL Premier of the North West Province
11h35 - 11h45	Western Cape	Hon Mr A. Winde, MPL Premier of the Western Cape
11h45 - 11h55	Progress Made in implementing executive undertakings relating to GBVF (Local Government Perspective)	Cllr. T Nkadimeng President of SALGA
11h55 – 12h00	Message of Support	Mrs L Komape-Ngwenya

Session Five Chairperson:

Hon. Ms N Ndaba, MP

Chairperson Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities

CIVIL SOCIETY STATEMENTS

12h00 - 12h10	GBVF: Strengthening the Rule of Law to Address GBVF	Prof R Jewkes South African Medical Research Council
12h10 - 12h20	GBVF: Prevention Programmes-Global Best Practices	Prof N Abrahams South African Medical Research Council
12h20 - 12h30	GBVF: Assessing the Efficacy of Existing Programmes	Mr. B Khumalo Sonke Gender Justice
12h30 - 12h40	SANAC Men's Sector's Response Plan to GBVF - Progress Update	Dr M Kganakga, SANAC Men's Sector
12h40 - 12h50	Campaign to Mobilize Men's active participation in prevention programmes	Mr. T Masango, Not In my name International
12h50 - 13h00	The Gender Pay Gap	Prof A Bosch, Stellenbosch University

Session Five Chairperson:

Hon. Ms S E Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces

Interactive Session

13h00 - 13h30

Session Four Chairperson:

Hon Ms M Gillion, MP

Chairperson, Select Committee, Social Services

PARTY STATEMENTS Time will be Proportionally Allocated 13h30 - 14h40 DA Hon M Clarke, MP **EFF** Hon D Ngwenya, MP IFP Ms Z Majozi, Hon. T Breedt, MP **FF Plus ACDP** Hon. ME Sukers, MP Hon. F Khuzwayo, MP ATM AL -JAMA - AH Hon. F Hendricks, MP NFP Ms T Nhlebela **Clir M Arnolds** AIC Hon. T Breedt, MP FF+ GOOD Ms CW Nare ANC ANC **Message of Support** Mrs GN Shope

14h20 – 14h30 Resolutions and Way Forward Hon. Mr S Literal Assemble Deputy Special Assemble Assemble Deputy Special Assemble Deputy Special Assemble Deputy Special Deputy

