



# PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES

## PREPARATORY WORKSHOP for THE PROVINCIAL WEEK

12 September 2019 PROGRAMME

Theme: Building Sustainable, Responsive and People-Centred Municipalities



#### Venue: S12A Old Assembly Building, Parliament of RSA

#### PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: HON. MR A MASONDO, MP CHAIRPERSON OF THE NCOP

08h30 - 08h55	Теа	ALL
---------------	-----	-----

09h00 - 09h30	The State of local government in South Africa and interventions to assist municipalities	Hon. Mr P Tau, MP Deputy Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
09h30 - 09h45	Discussion	ALL
09h50	Adjournment for party caucuses	



#### Venue: Old Assembly Chamber Old Assembly Building, Parliament of RSA

13h30 - 13h55 <b>Registration</b>	ALL	
-----------------------------------	-----	--

#### PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: HON. MS S LUCAS, MP DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON OF THE NCOP

TIME	ΤΟΡΙΟ	RESPONSIBLE MEMBER	
14h00 - 14h10	Opening and Welcome	Hon. Mr A Masondo, MP Chairperson of the NCOP	
14h10 - 15h00	Municipal Audit Outcomes 2017/18	Mr. K Makwetu Auditor-General	
15h00 - 15h30	Discussion	ALL	

### **SESSION THREE**

#### PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: HON. MR S J MOHAI, MP CHIEF WHIP OF THE NCOP

TIME	торіс	RESPONSIBLE MEMBER
15h30 - 16h10	Presentation of data relating to the non-financial census of municipalities – measurement of selected aspects of service delivery in municipalities	<b>Mr. R Maluleke</b> Statistician-General
16h10 - 16h40	The State of Local Government Finance and Financial Management and the Strategy to Address Municipal Performance Failures	Mr J Hattingh: Chief Director: Local Government Budget Analysis
		Ms K Ruplal: Director: Local Government Budget Analysis
16h40 - 17h10	Discussion	ALL
17h10 - 17h30	Impediments created by existing legislation to the function- ing of municipalities and their mandate to delivery services to communities	Cllr T Nkadimeng President of SALGA
17h30 - 17h50	Support systems and arrangements for various provincial delegations	Adv M E Phindela Secretary to the NCOP
17h50	Closure	Hon. Ms S Lucas, MP Deputy Chairperson of the NCOP