

COMMITTEES SECTION

PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403 2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403 3205 www.parliament.gov.za

Minutes of the Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

Date: Monday, 18 July 2022

Time: 10:00

Venue: Hybrid (Virtual & Physical at Committee Room M46)

Agenda:

• Hearings: Day 6 - Mr Tebogo Kholofelo Kekana appearing before the Committee

Members

Members		
Status	Name of Member	Political Party
Present	Mr QR Dyantyi (Chairperson) Ms D Dlakude Ms J Hermans Ms TM Joemat-Pettersson Ms TI Legwase Mr S Luzipo Mr MG Mahlaule Ms JS Mananiso Ms T Mgweba Mr BS Nkosi Mr X Nqola Ms ED Peters Mr AM Seabi Ms VS Siwela Mr BM Maneli Ms ME Tlhape Ms GK Tseke Mr GJ Skosana Ms J Tshabalala*	African National Congress (ANC)
	Dr A Lotriet Mr KJ Mileham Mr BB Nodada Dr M Gondwe Ms BM Van Minnen*	Democratic Alliance (DA)
	Mr JS Malema Ms OMC Maotwe	Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)
	Dr CP Mulder Ms H Denner* (FF+)	Freedom Front Plus (FF+)

Ms ME Sukers	African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)
Mr AM Shaik-Emam	National Freedom Party (NFP)
Mr B Herron	GOOD
Mr B Holomisa	United Democratic Movement (UDM)
Mr MGE Hendricks	Al Jama-ah

^{*}indicates that a member is an alternate

Parliamentary Officials and other

Name	Organization	Designation
Mr TK Ngoma	Parliament	Committee Secretary
Ms TC Morie	Parliament	Graduate Trainee
Ms H Davids	Parliament	Graduate Trainee
Adv. N Bawa	Parliament	Evidence Leader
Adv. N Mayosi	Parliament	Evidence Leader
Adv. A Pillay	Parliament	Evidence Leader Support
Mr T Kekana	Member of the Public	Committee Witness
Adv. D Mpofu	Seanego Attorneys	PP Legal Representative
Adv. B Shabalala	Seanego Attorneys	PP Legal Representative
Adv. H Matlhape	Seanego Attorneys	PP Legal Representative
Mr T Seanego	Seanego Attorneys	PP Legal Representative
Ms N Patel	Seanego Attorneys	PP Legal Representative
Adv ML Tau	Parliament	Acting Section Manager
Mr M Dano	Parliament	Committee Researcher
Ms S Sipamla	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr S Magagula	Parliament	Content Advisor
Dr S Khuzwayo	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr P Dlomo	Parliament	Content Advisor
Ms F Ebrahim	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr S Njikela	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr T Nage	Parliament	Procedural Officer
Mr P Hahndiek	Parliament	Procedural Officer

1. Opening and welcoming

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed all present, amongst others, the Evidence

Leaders of Parliament led by Adv. Bawa, Adv. Mkhwebane together with her legal team led by

Adv. Mpofu to the sixth day of the hearings.

He indicated that as a result of the Public Protector's pending court hearing and the necessary

preparations that her team needed to attend to, the hearing would take a break from

Wednesday 20 July 2022 to Tuesday 26 July 2022. The Committee hearing would resume on

Wednesday, 27 July 2022.

The Chairperson further indicated that a Committee meeting with the Evidence Leaders of

Parliament would take place during the following week and details would be communicated in

due course.

2. Cross-examination of Mr Tebogo Kekana

The Chairperson granted Adv. Mpofu the opportunity to begin his cross examination of the witness,

Mr Kekana. A record of the cross-examination will form part of the Committee report, which will be

considered and adopted at the end of the enquiry.

3. Closing remarks

The Chairperson expressed gratitude to all participants in the hearing for their co-operation and

contributions. He indicated that the cross-examination of Mr Kekana would continue on Tuesday, 19

July 2022.

4. Adjournment

The hearing was adjourned at 16:24.

Mr QR Dyantyi, MP

Chairperson: Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

3