

COMMITTEES SECTION

PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403 2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403 3205 www.parliament.gov.za

Minutes of the Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

Date: Tuesday, 20 July 2021

Time: 10:00

Venue: Virtual meeting

• Election of the Chairperson

Members

Members				
Status	Name of Member	Political Party		
Present	Mr QR Dyantyi (Chairperson) Ms DE Dlakude Mr M Gungubele Ms J Hermans Ms TI Legwase Mr S Luzipo Mr MG Mahlaule Ms JS Mananiso Mr MP Mapulane Ms T Mgweba Dr NP Nkabane Mr BS Nkosi Mr X Nqola Ms ED Peters Mr AM Seabi Ms VS Siwela Ms NG Tolashe Mr BM Maneli* Ms ME Tlhape* Ms GK Tseke*	African National Congress (ANC)		
	Dr A Lotriet Mr KJ Mileham Mr BB Nodada Mr ZN Mbhele* Ms BM Van Minnen*	Democratic Alliance (DA)		
	Mr JS Malema Ms OMC Maotwe	Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)		
	Ms Z Majozi Prof CT Msimang*	Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)		
	Dr CP Mulder Ms H Denner*	Freedom Front Plus (FF+)		

Ms ME Sukers	African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)
Mr BH Holomisa	United Democratic Movement (UDM)
Mr MGE Hendricks	Al Jama-ah
Apologies Ms TM Joemat-Pettersson (ANC) Mr AM Shaik-Emam (NFP) Mr LM Ntshayisa (AIC)	

^{*}indicates that a member is an alternate

Parliamentary Officials

Name	Organization	Designation
Mr TK Ngoma	Parliament	Committee Secretary
Adv ML Tau	Parliament	Acting Section Manager
Mr M Dumezweni	Parliament	Committee Assistant
Mr M Dano	Parliament	Committee Researcher
Ms S Sipamla	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr S Magagula	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr K Vellem	Parliament	Executive Secretary to Chairperson
Ms F Ebrahim	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Dr B Loots	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr T Nage	Parliament	Procedural Officer
Mr P Hahndiek	Parliament	Procedural Officer: House Plenaries

1. Opening and welcoming

Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma, the Committee Secretary opened the meeting and welcomed everyone in attendance. He informed members that the meeting was the first for the Committee for Section 194 Enquiry and that the only agenda item was to elect a Chairperson, in terms of National Assembly Rule's 160 and 129AC.

2. Election of Chairperson

Mr Ngoma outlined the election process to members and proceeded to call for nominations.

Ms Doris Eunice Dlakude nominated Mr Qubudile Richard Dyantyi. Mr Mondli Gungubele seconded the nomination of Mr Dyantyi. Mr Dyantyi accepted the nomination.

Mr Ngoma proceeded to call for further nominations. There were no further nominations. He

declared Mr Qubudile Richard Dyantyi the elected Chairperson of the Committee for Section

194 Enquiry and invited him to take over the proceedings.

Mr Dyantyi accepted the huge responsibility and the privilege afforded to him to lead the

Committee. He highlighted that the Committee was the first of its kind and the biggest the

National Assembly has had. He indicated that his election as the Chairperson marked the

beginning of the work of the Committee. He further shared the vision he had for the Committee

to conduct its business. Mr Dyantyi emphasized that it was important that members had no

predetermined outcomes of the work of the Committee and that all its work should be based

on evidence and facts.

Members from various political parties welcomed the election of Mr Dyantyi as the Chairperson

and expressed support for non-partisan engagements, based on procedural fairness. Members

also emphasized the importance of the work of the Committee and that it was important to

conduct itself, putting the interests of South Africans first. There was a request for an audited

document by the Constitutional and Legal Services of reports released by Public Protector

during her term of office, and which of those reports were reviewed in courts successfully or

otherwise.

Mr Dyantyi allowed for the introduction of the support staff of the Committee, from various units

of Parliament.

3. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:50.

Signed electronically

28 July 2021

Date

Mr QR Dyantyi, MP

wii Qit Dyantyi, wii

Chairperson: Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

3