



PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403 2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403 3205 www.parliament.gov.za

Minutes of the Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

Date: Wednesday, 28 July 2021

10:00 Time:

Venue: Virtual meeting

Agenda:

- Briefing by Parliament's Constitutional and Legal Services Office (CLSO) on aspects of • the Section 194 Enquiry into the removal from office of the Public Protector.
- Consideration of Committee Draft Programme. •
- Adoption of Committee minutes of Tuesday, 20 July 2021. •

Members	s
---------	---

Members				
Status	Name of Member	Political Party		
Present	Mr QR Dyantyi (Chairperson) Ms DE Dlakude Mr M Gungubele Ms J Hermans Ms TM Joemat-Pettersson Ms TI Legwase Mr S Luzipo Mr MG Mahlaule Ms JS Mananiso Mr MP Mapulane Ms T Mgweba Dr NP Nkabane Mr BS Nkosi Mr X Nqola Ms ED Peters Mr AM Seabi Ms VS Siwela Ms NG Tolashe Mr BM Maneli* Ms ME TIhape* Ms GK Tseke* Mr GJ Skosana*	African National Congress (ANC)		
	Dr A Lotriet Mr BB Nodada Dr LA Schreiber Mr ZN Mbhele* Ms BM Van Minnen*	Democratic Alliance (DA)		
	Mr JS Malema Ms OMC Maotwe	Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)		

Dr CP Mulder	Freedom Front Plus (FF+)
Ms ME Sukers	African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)
Mr W Madisha	Congress of the People (COPE)
Mr B Joko	Pan Africanist Congress (PAC)
Mr AM Emam-Shaik	National Freedom Party (NFP)
Apologies Ms H Denner* (FF+) Mr SG August (GOOD)	

*indicates that a member is an alternate

Parliamentary Officials

Name	Organization	Designation
Mr TK Ngoma	Parliament	Committee Secretary
Adv ML Tau	Parliament	Acting Section Manager
Mr M Dumezweni	Parliament	Committee Assistant
Mr M Dano	Parliament	Committee Researcher
Ms S Sipamla	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr S Magagula	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr K Vellem	Parliament	Executive Secretary to Chairperson
Adv Z Adhikarie	Parliament	Chief Legal Advisor
Ms F Ebrahim	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr T Nage	Parliament	Procedural Officer
Mr P Hahndiek	Parliament	Procedural Officer

1. Opening and welcoming

Mr Dyantyi opened the meeting and welcomed everyone present. He outlined the agenda of the meeting and requested the Committee Secretary to read apologies. Mr Ngoma read the apologies.

2. Constitutional and Legal Services Office (CLSO) presentation

Ms Ebrahim presented an overview of legal aspects of the Section 194 Enquiry into the removal from office of the Public Protector as follows: (i) Background; (ii) overview of Litigation; (iii) Legal Framework; (iv) Golden Rules; (v) Objectives, Scope and Purpose of Enquiry: (vi) Structure of Enquiry (Public Participation, Format, Additional Evidence, and Audi Alteram Partem); and (vii) Way Forward. The presentation is attached to the minutes as *Annexure A*.

2.1 Deliberations

The Committee deliberated and resolved:

- a. to keep the enquiry to the narrow scope as per the motion;
- b. to adopt a member-led hybrid approach with internal and external forensic support;
- c. to keep public participation limited to relevant persons with evidence to its fact finding mission;
- d. that all Committee meetings will be hybrid;
- e. that there was no legal basis for it not to proceed with the enquiry as the Court interdict was not granted; and
- f. that the Committee Support should develop Terms of Reference (ToRs) based on the agreed resolutions and proposals.

The Committee further agreed to the Audi Alteram Partem ("Listen to the other side") process as presented by CLSO.

3. Consideration of Committee Draft Programme

Mr Ngoma took members through a presentation of a draft programme. The programme is attached to the minutes as *Annexure B.*

3.1 Deliberation and resolutions

The Committee deliberated and resolved:

- a. that the programme was working document; and
- b. that members who require hard copies of Committee documents should contact the office of the Committee Secretary.

Ms Joemat-Pettersson moved for the adoption of the draft programme with changes suggested by the Committee, seconded by Ms Dlakude the draft programme was adopted as a working document.

4. Adoption of minutes of Tuesday, 20 July 2021

The Chairperson tabled the minutes of Tuesday, 20 July 2021 to the meeting. Ms Siwela moved for the adoption of the draft minutes and was seconded by Ms Hermans. The minutes of Tuesday, 20 July 2021 were adopted with the correction of Mr Mahlaule's surname.

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:40

Signed electronically

22 February 2022

Mr QR Dyantyi, MP Chairperson: Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

Date