

COMMITTEES SECTION

PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: 27 (21) 403 2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403 3205 www.parliament.gov.za

Minutes of the Committee for Section 194 Enquiry

Date: Tuesday, 22 February 2022

Time: 14:00

Venue: Virtual meeting

Agenda:

- Briefing by Parliament's Constitutional and Legal Services Office (CLSO) on the Constitutional Court judgement and proposed way forward.
- Consideration and adoption of Terms of Reference (ToR).
- Consideration of Revised Committee Programme.
- Adoption of Committee minutes of Wednesday, 28 July 2021.

Members

Status	Name of Member	Political Party
Present	Mr QR Dyantyi (Chairperson) Ms DE Dlakude Ms J Hermans Ms TM Joemat-Pettersson Ms TI Legwase Mr S Luzipo Mr MG Mahlaule Ms JS Mananiso Ms T Mgweba Mr BS Nkosi Mr X Nqola Ms ED Peters Mr AM Seabi Ms VS Siwela Ms NG Tolashe Mr BM Maneli* Ms ME Tlhape* Ms GK Tseke* Mr GJ Skosana*	African National Congress (ANC)
	Dr A Lotriet Mr KJ Mileham Mr BB Nodada Dr LA Schreiber Mr ZN Mbhele* Ms BM Van Minnen*	Democratic Alliance (DA)
	Mr JS Malema Ms OMC Maotwe	Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)

Dr CP Mulder Ms H Denner* (FF+)	Freedom Front Plus (FF+)
Ms ME Sukers	African Christian Democratic Paty (ACDP)
Mr AM Emam-Shaik	National Freedom Party (NFP)
Mr B Herron	GOOD
Mr B Holomisa	United Democratic Front (UDF)
Mr MGE Hendricks	Al Jama-ah
Apologies There were no apologies	

^{*}indicates that a member is an alternate

Parliamentary Officials and other

Name	Organization	Designation
Mr TK Ngoma	Parliament	Committee Secretary
Adv ML Tau	Parliament	Acting Section Manager
Mr M Dano	Parliament	Committee Researcher
Ms S Sipamla	Parliament	Content Advisor
Mr K Vellem	Parliament	Executive Secretary to Chairperson
Ms F Ebrahim	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Dr B Loots	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr S Njikela	Parliament	Legal Advisor
Mr T Nage	Parliament	Procedural Officer
Mr P Hahndiek	Parliament	Procedural Officer
Mr S Thwala	ANC Caucus	Content Advisor
Mr M Sweet	ANC Caucus	Head: Research and Development

1. Opening and welcoming

Mr Dyantyi opened the meeting and welcomed everyone present. He outlined the agenda of the meeting and requested the Committee Secretary to read apologies. There were no apologies except for Mr Mulder who had to leave early. He proceeded to reflect on the undertakings made during the last meeting of the Committee in July 2021. The Committee had amongst others, adopted its programme as a working document. However, the Committee took a halt following the Cape High Court judgement, since it had a bearing on its work, to observe the Court processes.

2. Constitutional and Legal Services Office (CLSO) presentation

Dr Loots briefed the Committee on the Constitutional Court judgement (Annexure A). In summary, she indicated that the Speaker of the National Assembly had appealed the Cape High Court judgement in the Constitutional Court. In its ruling on the matter, the Constitutional Court gave Parliament a go ahead with the enquiry, provided it made provision for the Public Protector to have legal representation during the process. The Court further found that it was desirable for a judge to lead an independent panel for the process, because of the separation of powers.

She also brought to the attention of the Committee that the Speaker, on 21 February 2022 received a letter from the Public Protector's legal representative to indicate that the Public Protector intends filing an application against certain parts of the judgement to be rescinded. The letter further requested that the Speaker adopts the same attitude as previously and put the proceedings on hold. The Speaker responded to the Public Protector indicating that there was no basis to halt the work of the Committee and there was no court interdict.

Following the response to the Public Protector, the Speaker received another letter on 22 February 2022 persisting that the proceedings be halted. However, there were no legal basis for the Committee to not continue with its work, as the Public Protector letter was merely a declaration of intent. The process had also not been interdicted by any court.

Ms Ebrahim proceeded to brief the Committee on the Terms of Reference (*Annexure B*). She reflected on the previous document that was presented to the Committee, in July 2021 before the proceedings were halted. The Committee had preferred a Member-led approach with internal and specialised external support, referred to as the 'hybrid approach' method. The external forensic support to was going to play a limited role of assisting with unpacking evidence. She proposed that, since the Constitutional Court upheld to decision of the Cape High Court for the Public Protector to have full representation, that the Committee consider making use of services of an Evidence Leader.

2.1 Deliberations

The Committee deliberated and unanimously resolved to proceed with its work as there was

no legal basis for it not to do so. The Committee further gave permission to the CLSO to

proceed with identifying an Evidence Leader.

On a motion by Ms Lotriet, seconded by Ms Dlakude the Terms of Reference were adopted.

3. Consideration of Committee Draft Programme

Mr Ngoma took members through a presentation of a draft programme. The programme is

attached to the minutes as (Annexure C).

3.1 Deliberation and resolutions

There were no deliberations on the programme. On a motion by Ms Dlakude, seconded by Mr

Mileham the programme was adopted as a working document.

4. Adoption of minutes of Wednesday, 28 July 2021

The Chairperson tabled the minutes of Wednesday, 28 July 2021 to the meeting. On a motion

by Ms Mananiso, seconded by Mr Maneli the minutes were adopted with no amendments.

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 15:35

Signed electronically 11 May 2022

Mr QR Dyantyi, MP Date

Chairperson: Committee for Section 194 Enquiry