No 8 – 2019] SIXTH SESSION, FIFTH PARLIAMENT

### **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**

# **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OF

# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### WEDNESDAY, 6 MARCH 2019

- 1. The House met at 15:02.
- 2. The Speaker took the Chair and requested members to observe a moment of silence for prayer or meditation.
- 3. The Speaker announced that the vacancy which occurred in the National Assembly owing to the resignation of Dr Z Luyenge had been filled by the nomination of Ms G B Fanta with effect from 21 February 2019.

The vacancy which occurred owing to the resignation of Mr M S Motimele had been filled by the nomination of Mr N E Seabi with effect from 21 February 2019.

The vacancy which occurred owing to the resignation of Mr K M N Gigaba had been filled by the nomination of Ms N Maqubela with effect from 21 February 2019.

The vacancies which occurred due to the passing of Ms B E E Molewa and Ms N A Mnisi, had been filled by the nomination of Mr A V Mahlangu and Ms M M Khayiyane, respectively, with effect from 21 February 2019.

The members had made and subscribed the oath and affirmation in the Speaker's office.

4. [15:05] Questions - Cluster 3: Governance.

[16:50] Ms H O Mkhaliphi having disregarded the authority of the Chair was ordered by the Deputy Speaker to withdraw from the Chamber for the remainder of the day's sitting.

When the member refused to leave the Chamber, the Deputy Speaker called upon the Serjeant-at-Arms to remove the member from the Chamber.

The member thereupon withdrew from the Chamber.

#### 5. FIRST ORDER [18:05]

Consideration of **2019 Fiscal Framework** and **Revenue Proposals** and of **Report of Standing Committee on Finance** thereon (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 5 March 2019, p 3).

Debate concluded.

The Chief Whip of the Majority Party moved: That the 2019 Fiscal Framework and Revenue Proposals and the Report of the Standing Committee on Finance thereon be adopted.

Question put: That the motion moved by the Chief Whip of the Majority Party be agreed to.

Division demanded.

House divided.

AYES - 199: Abraham-Ntantiso, N; Abrahams, B L; Adams, F; Adams, P E: Adams, R C; Bapela, K O; Basson, J V; Bekwa, S D; Beukman, F; Bhengu, P; Bhengu, F; Bhengu, N R; Bilankulu, N K; Botes, A; Buthelezi, N S; Capa, N; Capa, R N; Carrim, Y I; Cebekhulu, R N; Cele, M A; Chauke, H P; Chikunga, L S; Chiloane, T D; Chohan, F I; Cronin, J P; Dambuza, N B; Davies, R H; Dlakude, D E; Dlamini, B O; Dlamini-Dubazana, Z S; Dlamini-Zuma, N C; Dlodlo, A; Dlomo, B J; Dube, J J; Dunjwa, M L; Ebrahim, E I; Esterhuizen, J A; Faku, Z C; Fanta, B; Fubbs, J L; Gcwabaza, N E; Gina, N; Gordhan, P J; Gumede, D M; Gungubele, M; Hanekom, D A; Jeffery, J H; Johnson, M; Kabini, D J; Kalako, M U; Kekana, H B; Kekana, C D; Kekana, E; Kekana, M D; Khayiyane, M M; Khoarai, L P; Khosa, D H; Khubisa, N M; Khunou, N P; Kilian, J D; Koornhof, N J J v R; Kota-Fredricks, Z A; Landers, L T; Lesoma, R M M; Luzipo, S; Maake, J J; Mabandla, N; Mabasa, X; Mabe, B P; Mabija, L; Mabika, M S; Madella, A F; Madlopha, C Q; Maesela, P; Mafu, N N; Magadla, N W; Magadzi, D P; Magwanishe, G; Mahlalela, A F; Mahlangu, J L; Mahlangu, D G; Mahlangu, V A; Mahlobo, M D; Makhubela-Mashele, L S; Makondo, T; Makwetla, S P; Malgas, H H; Maluleke, B J; Manamela, K B; Manana, M N S; Mantashe, P T; Maphatsoe, E R K; Mapisa-Ngakula, N N; Mapulane, M P; Martins, B A D; Masango, M S A; Masehela, E K M; Maseko, L M; Mashego-Dlamini, K C; Mashile, B L; Masondo, N A; Masuku, M B; Masutha, T M; Mathale, C C; Matlala, M H; Matshoba, M O; Matsimbi, C; Mavunda, R T; Maxegwana, C H M; Mbete, B; Mbuyane, S H; Mdakane, M R; Memela, T C; Meso, L D; Mfeketo, N C; Mfulo, A T; Mjobo, L N; Mkhize, Z L; Mmemezi, H M Z; Mmola, M P; Mmusi, S G; Mncwabe, S C; Mnganga - Gcabashe, L A; Mnguni, P J; Mnguni, D; Mokoto, N R; Molebatsi, M A; Molekane, E; Morutoa, M R; Mothapo, M R M; Mpanza, T K; Mpumlwana, L K B; Mthembu, N; Mthembu, J M; Nchabeleng, M E; Ndabeni-Abrahams, S T; Ndongeni, N; Nel, A C; Newhoudt-Druchen, W S; Ngwenya-Mabila, P C; Ngwezi, X; Nkadimeng, M F; Nkomo, S J; Nkonyeni, P; Nkonzo, T M; Nkwinti, G E; Nobanda, G N; November, N T; Ntombela, M L D; Nxesi, T W; Nyambi, H V; Oliphant, M N; Oliphant, G G; Oosthuizen, G C; Pandor, G N M; Patel, E; Phaahla, M J; Phosa, Y N; Pikinini, I A; Pilane-Majake, M C C; Radebe, B A; Radebe, J T; Ralegoma, S M; Ramatlakane, L; Rantho, D Z; Seabi, A M; Seabi, N E; Semenya, M R; Senokoanyane, D Z; Shabalala, N F; Shabangu, S; Shaik Emam, A M; Shelembe, M L; Shope-Sithole, S C N; Sibande, M P; Singh, N; Sisulu, L N; Sithole, K P; Skosana, G J; Smith, V G; Thabethe, E; Theko, L C; Tleane, S A; Tobias, T V; Tom, X S; Tongwane, T M A; Tseke, G K; Tseli, R M; Tshwete, P; Tsoleli, S P; Tsotetsi, D R; Tuck, A; Van Rooyen, D D D; Van Schalkwyk, S R; Wolmarans, M J; Xaba, N; Xasa, T; Xego, S T; Zulu, L D.

NOES - 50: America, D; Bara, M R; Basson, L J; Bozzoli, B; Cachalia, G K Y; Carter, D; Dreyer, A M; Esau, S; Geyer, H P; Gqada, T; Groenewald, H B; Grootboom, G A; Hlonyana, N K F; Horn, W; Hugo, R; Khanyile, T A; Khawula, M S; King, C; Kruger, H C C; Lees, R A; Lorimer, J R B; Lotriet, A; Mackenzie, C; Majola, T R; Masango, B S; Mbabama, T M; Mcloughlin, A R; Motau, S C; Motshidi, T K; Mulaudzi, T E; Ngwenya, G W; Nolutshungu, N; Paulsen, M N; Purdon, R K; Rabotapi, M W; Rawula, T; Ryder, D R; Shackleton, S; Sonti, N P; Stander, T; Steenhuisen, J H; Steenkamp, J; Stubbe, D J; Swart, S N; Thembekwayo, S S; Van Der Walt, D; Van Der Westhuizen, A P; Waters, M; Wessels, W W; Yako, Y N.

ABSTAIN - 1: Raphuti, D D.

Motion agreed to.

**2019 Fiscal Framework and Revenue Proposals, and the Report of Standing Committee on Finance** accordingly adopted.

6. The House adjourned at 19:42.

PN TYAWA Acting Secretary to Parliament