No 22 – 2022] FOURTH SESSION, SIXTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

THURSDAY, 2 JUNE 2022

- 1. The House met at 14:00.
- 2. House Chairperson Ms M G Boroto took the Chair and requested members to observe a moment of silence for prayer or meditation.
- 3. [14:01] Mr B A Radebe, on behalf of the Chief Whip of the Majority Party, moved: That the House, with the concurrence of the National Council of Provinces
 - (1) recognises that climate change and global warming have become priorities for South Africa and the global community;
 - (2) notes that South Africa has made a number of commitments to combat climate change in the context of a just transition and sustainable development;
 - (3) further notes that Parliament requires a coordinated, consultative approach to ensure that it can oversee and contribute to South Africa's climate's strategy;
 - (4) therefore resolves, in accordance with Joint Rule 142, to establish a Joint Steering Committee on Climate Change for the duration of the Sixth Parliament; the Committee to
 - (a) facilitate the co-ordination of parliamentary activities related to climate change;
 - (b) facilitate a joint parliamentary programme of action to prioritise climate issues and commitments;

- (c) be co-chaired by a House Chairperson from each House;
- (d) exercise those powers provided for in Joint Rules 32 and 33 and may consult any other committee or forum;
- (e) have the power to establish sub-committees to assist with the fulfilment of its mandate:
- (f) consist of
 - (i) one member designated from each of the portfolio committees on Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development; Higher Education, Science and Technology; Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation; International Relations and Cooperation; Public Enterprises; Minerals and Energy; Trade and Industry; and Transport;
 - (ii) one member designated from each of the select committees on Education and Technology, Sport, Arts and Culture; Trade and Industry, Economic Development, Small Business Development, Tourism, Employment and Labour; Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Water and Sanitation and Human Settlements; Land Reform, Environment, Mineral Resources and Energy; Public Enterprises and Communications; and Transport, Public Service and Administration, Public Works and Infrastructure;
 - (iii) one member designated from each of the standing and select committees on finance and appropriations;
 - (iv) 11 other members from the National Assembly (ANC 6, DA 2, EFF 1 and other parties 2); and
 - (v) 9 other members from the National Council of Provinces; and
- (5) report to the Houses at least annually.

Motion agreed to.

4. FIRST ORDER [14:05]

Consideration of Report of Portfolio Committee on Health on **National Health Amendment Bill [B 29 – 2018]** (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 11 March 2021, p 31).

Dr K L Jacobs, as Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Mr B A Radebe moved: That the Report be adopted.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party, National Freedom Party, African Independent Congress and African National Congress.

Motion agreed to (Economic Freedom Fighters dissenting).

Report accordingly adopted.

5. SECOND ORDER [14:40]

Second Reading: **National Health Amendment Bill** [B 29 - 2018] (National Assembly – sec 76).

There was no debate.

Bill not read a second time (Economic Freedom Fighters dissenting).

6. THIRD ORDER [14:42]

Consideration of Report of Portfolio Committee on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs on **Disaster Management Amendment Bill [B 2 – 2021]** (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 8 March 2022, p 6).

Mr F D Xasa, as Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Mr B A Radebe moved: That the Report be adopted.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party, Good, African Independent Congress and African National Congress.

Motion agreed to (Democratic Alliance, Freedom Front Plus and African Christian Democratic Party dissenting).

Report accordingly adopted.

7. FOURTH ORDER [15:19]

Second Reading: **Disaster Management Amendment Bill** [B 2 - 2021] (National Assembly – sec 76).

There was no debate.

Question put: That the Bill not be read a second time.

Division demanded.

In terms of Rule 117(1) (*Confusion or error concerning division*) the Presiding Officer, House Chairperson Ms M G Boroto, directed that the initial division be disregarded and that the division be repeated.

The House divided.

```
AYES - 182: (ANC – 155; EFF – 25; Good - 2).
```

NOES -78: (DA -62; FF Plus -7; ACDP -4; IFP -5).

Question agreed to.

Bill accordingly not read a second time.

8. FIFTH ORDER [15:50]

Consideration of Request for Approval of **Amendment to the Convention on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material** in terms of section 231(2) of Constitution, 1996 (Report of Portfolio Committee on Mineral Resources and Energy) (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 24 March 2022, p 7).

Mr S Luzipo, as Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party, United Democratic Movement, Good and African National Congress.

Amendment to the Convention on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material accordingly approved.

9. SIXTH ORDER [16:19]

Consideration of Report of Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services on Amendments to Regulations for approval in terms of section 97(2) of the Child Justice Act, 2008 (Act 75 of 2008) (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 23 March 2022, p 40).

Mr G Magwanishe, as Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Mr B A Radebe moved: That the Report be adopted.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party, United Democratic Movement, Good, Pan Africanist Congress and African National Congress.

Motion agreed to (Economic Freedom Fighters dissenting).

Report accordingly adopted.

10. SEVENTH ORDER [16:41]

Consideration of Request for Approval of **African Charter on Statistics** in terms of section 231(2) of Constitution, 1996 (Report of Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration) (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 2 December 2021, p 3).

Mr T H James, as Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, African Christian Democratic Party, United Democratic Movement, Pan Africanist Congress and African National Congress.

African Charter on Statistics accordingly approved.

11. EIGHTH ORDER [17:08]

Consideration of Annual Report of Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence for financial year ending 31 March 2020 including period up to December 2020 (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 10 September 2021, p 6).

Mr J J Maake, as Co-Chairperson of the Committee, introduced the Report.

There was no debate.

Mr B A Radebe moved: That the Report be adopted.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of the Democratic Alliance, Economic Freedom Fighters, Inkatha Freedom Party, Freedom Front Plus, African Christian Democratic Party, Pan Africanist Congress and African National Congress.

Motion agreed to (Economic Freedom Fighters dissenting).

Report accordingly adopted.

12. The House adjourned at 17:38.

P N TYAWA Acting Secretary to Parliament