

WOMEN'S CHARTER REVIEW - PARLIAMENT OF SOUTH AFRICA

Namakwa District 9 JUNE 2020

PROGRAMME

Programme Director:

Hon. Ms SE Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces

TIME	ACTIVITY	RESPONSIBLE PERSON
14h00 – 14h55	Test Period Commences (Zoom)	ALL
14h55 – 15h00	Moment of Silence for Prayer and Meditation	ALL
15h00 - 15h05	Welcome address	Cllr G Peters Speaker, Namakwa District Municipality, Northern Cape
15h05 - 15h10	Contextualizing the Review	Hon. Ms. SE Lucas, MP
	The 25-Year Review of the 1994 Women's Charter for Effective Equality, setting the Women Empowerment Agenda for the next 25 Years	Deputy Chairperson of the NCOP
15h10 – 15h25	The State of Gender Transformation: Namakwa District	Ms. T Mathebula Chairperson, Commission for Gender Equality
15h25 - 15h35	Social Cluster Overview	
	Contextualizing Poverty and Inequality in the Northern Cape, focusing on the Namakwa District (structural conditions that impede progress in advancing the Status of Women)	Ms. G Lehloenya Acting DDG Population and Statistics and Mr. Neil Roux Director, Statistical Services Statistics SA
15h35 – 15h45	Economic Cluster Overview: Provide an overview of the fiscal implications towards the implementation of an integrated and gender sensitive district planning model: Targeted Perspectives to enhance gender sensitive planning processes and implementation in the Namakwa District	Ms A Maharaj General Manager, Financial and Fiscal Commission
	Mining Industry	Ms. D. Momoro, Cornorato Sorvicos
15h45 – 15h55	Mining Industry Gender Equity Programmes in the Namakwa District	Ms. P. Momoza, Corporate Services Manager Alexkor Mine
15h55 – 16h05	Gender Equity programmes in the Namakwa District	Mr C. Witbooi, Head of Corporate Relations Vadenta Mine
	District Level Planning Perspectives:	Cllr G. Peters
16h05 – 16h15	Towards A Gendered Integrated Development Planning approach, to improve the status of women in the District	Speaker, Namakwa District Municipality, Northein Gape
16h10 – 16h55	Discussion	ALL VI

		Cllr G Peters
16h55 - 17h00	Vote of Thanks	Speaker, Namakwa District Municipality,
		Northern Cape

