

WOMEN'S CHARTER REVIEW - PARLIAMENT OF SOUTH AFRICA

Mangaung Metro, Thabo Mofutsanyane District, Xhariep District 10 JULY 2020

PROGRAMME

Session Chairperson:

Hon. Ms SE Lucas, MP

Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces

| TIME | ACTIVITY | RESPONSIBLE PERSON |
|---------------|---|---|
| 14h00 – 14h55 | Test Period Commences (Zoom) | ALL |
| 14h55 – 15h00 | Moment of Silence for Prayer and Meditation | ALL |
| 15h00 - 15h05 | Opening Remarks | Ms NB Sefuba, MPL Speaker, Free State Provincial Legislature |
| 15h05 – 15h10 | Contextualizing the Review | Mr. SL Tsenoli, MP |
| | The 25-Year Review of the 1994 Women's Charter for Effective Equality, setting the Women Empowerment Agenda for the next 25 Years | Deputy Speaker, National Assembly |
| 15h10 – 15h25 | The State of Gender Transformation: Mangaung Metro | Commissioner D. Mothupi Commission for Gender Equality |
| 15h25 - 15h35 | Social Cluster Overview | |
| | Contextualizing Poverty and Inequality in the Free State Province, focusing on the Mangaung Metro, Thabo Mofutsanyane and Xhariep Districts (structural conditions that impede progress in improving the Status of Women) | Ms. G. Lehloenya and Mr. N Roux Statistics South Africa |
| | | Ms. A. Maharaj |
| 15h35 – 15h45 | Economic Cluster Overview: Provide an overview of the fiscal implications towards the implementation of an integrated and gender sensitive district planning model: Targeted Interventions to enhance gender sensitive planning processes and implementation in the Mangaung Metro, Thabo Mofutsanyane and Xhariep Districts | General Manager, Financial and Fiscal Commission |



| 15h45 - 16h15 | Metro and District Level Planning Perspectives: Towards A Gendered Integrated Development Planning approach, to improve the status of women | Cllr O. Mlamleli Mayor, Mangaung Metro, Free State Cllr M. Vilakazi Mayor, Thabo Mofutsanyane District Cllr M. Sehanka Mayor, Xhariep District |
|---------------|---|--|
| 16h15 – 17h55 | Discussion | ALL |
| 16h55 - 17h00 | Vote of Thanks | Ms SE Lucas, MP Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces |

