

## WOMEN'S CHARTER REVIEW-HIGH LEVEL SESSION ON FEMICIDE

29 JULY 2020

## **PROGRAMME**

**Session One Chairperson:** 

Hon. SE Lucas MP

Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces

TIME	ACTIVITY	RESPONSIBLE PERSON
14h00 - 14h55	Test Period Commences (Zoom)	ALL
14h55 - 15h00	Moment of Silence for Prayer and Meditation	ALL
15h00 - 15h05	Opening Remarks	Hon S E Lucas, MP Deputy Chairperson, National Council of Provinces
15h05 - 15h25	A Statistical Overview: Gender Based Violence and Femicide in South Africa	Mr. R Maluleke Statistician General, Stats South Africa
15h25 - 15h55	The Socio-Cultural Context of Intimate Femicide in South Africa:  Towards delineating a legislative framework on Femicide, as a deterrent for the killing of women	Professor S Mathews Director, Children's Institute University of Cape Town
15h55 – 16h30	The Rule of Law as a deterrent to address the Scourge of Gender Based Violence and Femicide in South Africa: Global Best Practices and Prevention programmes that have had a positive impact in reducing high levels of Gender Based Violence and Femicide	Professor R Jewkes Director of What Works to Prevent Violence, South African Medical Research Council & Professor N Abrahams Interim Director, South African Medical Research Council



## Hon. S L Tsenoli, MP Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

16h30 - 16h45	Femicide and the Rule of Law in South Africa: Building a legislative Framework Towards a Zero Tolerance Policy for the Killing of Women in South Africa	Adv F Magano Chairperson, South African Women Lawyers Association
16h45 – 17h00	Law and the Administration of Justice in South Africa: Identifying Gaps in Current Legislation that weaken the State's ability to effectively respond to the scourge of Femicide	Adv T Nichols South African Women Lawyers Association
17h00 – 17h15	Addressing femicide through the rule of law: Addressing Weaknesses in the Criminal Justice System	Mr B Khumalo Strategic Advisor, Sonke Gender Justice
17h15 – 17h55	DISCUSSION	ALL
17h55 - 18h00	WAY FORWARD	Hon S L Tsenoli, MP Deputy Speaker, National Assembly

