Parliament, Saturday 2 November 2019 – Parliament and its Presiding Officers, led by National Assembly Speaker Ms Thandi Modise and National Council of Provinces Chairperson Mr Amos Masondo, congratulate the Springboks, for winning the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

South Africa won 32-12 against England today at the 2019 World Cup final in Yokohama, Japan.

It is the third time that the Springboks have won the cup. The first time was in 1995 when they played against New Zealand in the final. They won the cup again in 2007 – again against England.

“This year’s team has also rippled the uniting and nation building effect the 1995 cup brought about to our nation, which is evident that sport plays an important and catalytic role for social cohesion and comradery. We also urge the team to be role models to our youth including men in our drive as a nation to curb gender based violence as we are also heading to another effort of the 16 days against the scourge of violence against women and children in our country,” the POs cited.

“We are also very proud of the team for bringing the cup home. We are very proud of the team and cherish their resilient spirit, “ they added

To the nation we extend our appreciation for the support given to the team during their national duty during the rugby world cup 2019.

We salute the sterling leadership displayed of coach Rassie Erasmus and the team captain Siya Kolisi. To the whole team we say: Halala Bokke! Halala!


Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930