Parliament, Thursday 11 April 2019 – The Presiding Officers of Parliament, National Assembly Speaker Ms Baleka Mbete and National Council of Provinces Chairperson Ms Thandi Modise, congratulate veterans of our anti-apartheid struggle and last surviving Rivonia trialists, former Member of Parliament Dr Andrew Mokete Mlangeni and Dr Denis Goldberg.

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) awarded honourary doctorates to the two this morning.

Dr Mlangeni was awarded a Doctorate of Public Administration, for his “commitment to the fight for a democratic South Africa and a lifetime of service to the people of South Africa". His comrade and friend, Dr Goldberg, was awarded a Doctorate of Engineering for his "selfless contribution to the struggle for freedom and his unwavering commitment to the development of post-apartheid South Africa".

The honorary degrees were conferred at the CPUT annual graduation ceremony, presided over by Chancellor of the University Ms Thandi Modise.

The Presiding Officers applaud the CPUT for honoring these giants of our struggle for freedom. They are living national treasures whose wisdom continues to inspire and guide us. We continue to be indebted to these brave freedom fighters for their continued commitment to the development of South Africa.

Today's occasion also coincides with the 86th birthday of Dr Goldberg, who was born on 11 April 1933. The Presiding Officers of Parliament wish him a wonderful birthday.

Enquiries: Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930