You are Here: » Business of Parliament » Press Releases

Parliament, Tuesday 28 June 2016 - The Ad hoc Committee established to nominate a person for the appointment of Public Protector placed adverts in newspapers calling upon members of the public to nominate suitable candidates for appointment as Public Protector. The nomination process opened on 3 June and closed on 24 June 2016. The Committee received a total of 73 nominations and applications.

Seven candidates, including Ms Graca Machel, Adv Gerrie Nel and former Finance Minister Mr Nhlanhla Nene, are among those who declined their nominations. There were other verbal nominations, such as the former President Thabo Mbeki, former Deputy Chief Justice Moseneke, Advocate Dumisa Ntsebeza. These nominations were not formally sent to the Committee and they have been subsequently declined. Other candidates were unreachable to confirm their nomination by end of business, Monday 27 June 2016 and these nominees will be removed from the list.

Taking into account the above information, the Committee can safely say that it has 59 candidates to be considered for short-listing.

The Committee is very impressed with the calibre of nominees and applicants, received and says this is an indication that South Africans thoroughly applied their minds in putting forward their nominees. The Committee is also pleased with the high number of women that have been nominated or applied. There are about more than 20 females on the list.

The names and CVs of candidates can be accessed via Parliament's website and social media platforms. When you click on a person's name, you will be taken to a candidate's CV. Members of the public are thus encouraged to scrutinise these names and CVs and send their comments or objections to:, for the attention of Mr Vhonani Ramaano. The deadline for comments or objections is Friday, 8 July 2016.

Candidates will receive a questionnaire to complete and return it to the Committee. The information obtained from questionnaires will be used as supplementary information in order to assist the Committee with short-listing and interviewing. Questionnaires will be sent to candidates from tomorrow, 29 June and are expected to be returned to the Committee by no later than Friday, 08 July 2016.  

Once more, we want to appeal to people who will be making comments and objections to disclose their identity in order to authenticate their submissions. It should also be borne in mind that, objections against a nominee or applicant will not be automatically used to eliminate a particular candidate. The Committee will follow due process in validating such objections.

Once the comments and objections process is closed, the Committee will commence with the short-listing process, the details of which will be communicated in due time.  Interviews are still schedule to take place after the August 2106 Local Government Elections.

The list of candidates arranged in alphabetical order of surnames and is as follows: 

1.    Mr Bernard Peter Agulhas

2.    Adv Rhulani Ralph Baloyi

3.    Ms Melanie Bernard (Fryer) (nomination sent via email before the closing date but did not reach the recipient)

4.    Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller

5.    Mr Vincent James Botto

6.    Adv Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo

7.    Mr Raymond Edward Chalom

8.    Prof Pierre de Vos

9.    Judge Sirajudien Desai

10. Mr Phillip Dexter

11. Adv Pumeza Futshane

12. Adv Andrea Gabriel SC (not contactable)

13. Ms Nombonisa Gasa (nomination declined)

14. Adv Mathys Johannes Gildenhuys

15. Adv MT Goodman (nee' Shai)

16. Ms Pregs Govender (nomination declined)

17. Adv Mojankunyane Gumbi (not contactable)

18. Prof Alexander Mzamo Gumbi

19. Adv Mark Andrew Hawyes

20. Mr Nick Haysom (Not available at this time)

21. Mr William Andrew Hofmeyr

22. Adv Zarina Kellerman (nee' Prasadh)

23. Adv KB Kgoroeadira

24. Mr Ashook Kirpal

25. Mr Burt Silverston Laing

26. Ms Muvhango Lukhaimane

27. Mrs Graca Simbine Machel (nomination declined)

28. Adv Zwelethu Madasa (The following nominations were sent via email before the closing date but did not reach the recipient)

29. Adv Thuli Madonsela (term not renewable)

30. Mr Prince Sefako Mafojane

31. Mr Zola Majavu (nomination declined)

32. Adv Mohale Joseph Maluleke

33. Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga

34. Ms Lynnette Gail Marais

35. Ms Busisiwe Mkhwebane

36. Mr Vickqus Nkosikhona Mncube

37. Adv Hishaam Mohamed

38. Mrs M Mohlala-Mulaudzi

39. Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (nominated declined)

40. Adv Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa

41. Mr Ronnie Samuel Mokoena

42. Mr Thokwane Phineas Post Moloto

43. Ms Tjitlo Monaledi

44. Ms Audrey Mpofu

45. Adv Dali Mpofu SC

46. Adv Loyiso Khanyisa Bunye Mpumlwana

47. Mrs M Mthebule

48. Adv MM Mthembu

49. Mr Themba Phillip Mthethwa

50. Adv Philani Pilatu Sydney Mthethwa

51. Ms Janine Kim Myburgh

52. Mr Krish Naidoo

53. Mr Gerrie Nel (nomination declined)

54. Mr Nhlanhla Nene (nomination declined)

55. Mr Malcolm John Sphiwe Nhleko

56. Ms Sophy Moipone Noko

57. Ms Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu

58. Ms Nokuthula Sincercia Nwaoshai

59. Mr Mthuthuzeki Moshesh Nyiki

60. Mrs Jill Claudelle Oliphant

61. Adv Vusi Pikoli (nomination declined)

62. Ms Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh

63. Mr Tshepiso David Humphrey Ramphele

64. Mr Riaz Achmed Saloojee

65. Mr Jonas Ben Sibanyoni

66. Mr Boiki-John Tamako

67. Ms Bawinile May Thabethe (nomination declined)

68. Adv Tseliso Thipanyane

69. Adv Randal Titus

70. Mr Khunoana Harry Tswago

71. Mr Vuyisa Vuza

72. Mr Hermanus Lambertus Waldicks (Candidate has withdrawn)

73. Judge Sharise Weiner

74. Mr Solo Johannes Makhonjwa (The following nominations were sent via email before the closing date but did not reach the recipient)

75. Ms Linda Carol Mabaso (The following nominations were sent via email before the closing date but did not reach the recipient)

76. Prof Bongani Christopher Majola (nomination sent via email before the closing date but did not reach the recipient)

77. Seswantsho Goffrey Lebeya (Nomination sent before closing date but not received)

78. Dr B Mmunsinyane (Nomination sent before closing date but not received)

The Committee wants to assure South Africans that it has taken a constitutionally sound decision of making this process as transparent as possible. It must also be noted that it was and remains the Committee's undertaking to publicise any engagement that has to do with processes. The Committee undertook this, way before those calls were rightfully made by the citizens and the NGO sector. The Committee, therefore, wants to thank the continuous interest and support shown in this critical process.

For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairperson, please contact:

Name: Temba Gubula
Parliamentary Communication Services
Tel: 021 403 8307
Cell: 078 735 8809 / 081 402 3531