You are Here: » Committee Notice Details

Have Your Say: Border Management Authority Bill [B 9B – 2016]

Border Management Authority Bill (B 9 - 2016)

The Select Committee on Social Services invites interested people and stakeholders to submit written comments on the Border Management Authority Bill.

The Bill seeks:

To provide for the establishment, organisation, regulation, functions and control of the Border Management Authority; to provide for the appointment, terms of office, conditions of service and functions of the Commissioner and Deputy Commissioners; to provide for the appointment and terms and conditions of employment of officials; to provide for the duties, functions and powers of officers; to provide for the establishment of an Inter-Ministerial Consultative Committee, Border Technical Committee and advisory committees; to provide for delegations; to provide for the review or appeal of decisions of officers; to provide for certain offences and penalties; to provide for annual reporting; to provide for the Minister to make regulations with regard to certain matters; and to provide for matters connected therewith.

Written submissions must be received by no later than 12:00 on Friday, 27 October 2017.

Enquiries, as well as written submissions, can be directed to: Ms Marcelle Williams, Select Committee on Social Services, Parliament of RSA, P.O. Box 15, Cape Town 8000 or e-mailed to:

Copies of the Bill can be obtained from Ms Marcelle Williams on tel. 021 403 3799, cell: 083 709 8451 or at

Issued by MP Dlamini, Ms LC, Chairperson: Select Committee on Social Services.