You are Here: » Committee Notice Details

Have Your Say: Hydrographic Bill [B 17b-2018] (National Assembly– Sec 75)

The Select Committee on Security and Justice invites stakeholders and interested persons to submit written submissions on the Hydrographic Bill [B 17B-2018] (National Assembly– sec 75).

The Hydrographic Bill seeks, amongst other matters, to:

  • provide for the establishment of the Hydrographic Office; 
  • provide for its objects, functions and the manner in which it is to be managed; 
  • provide for the appointment and powers of the Hydrographer and the staff in the Hydrographic Office; 
  • regulate the submission of hydrographic data; 
  • regulate the manner in which hydrographic survey marks and copyrights may be protected; 
  • provide for the limitation of civil liability; 
  • provide for the manner in which the income of the Hydrographic Office must be dealt with; 
  • provide for co-operation agreements and to provide for matters connected therewith.


Written submissions must be received by no later than 1 March 2019.

Request for copies of the Bill, written submissions and enquiries must be directed to Mr G Dixon, Select Committee on Security and Justice, 3rd Floor, Office 133, 90 Plein Street, Cape Town, 8001 or emailed to or faxed to 086 658 9371.

Issued by Hon. SG Mthimunye, MP, Chairperson: Select Committee on Security and Justice.